In the past few years, drones have become more popular. It seems like everyone has one these days, from kids to adults and professional photographers. Drones are used for everything from taking photos of sunsets to delivering packages.
You can fly a drone if you’re over 16 years old and have permission from the property owner. You need to stay at least 5 miles away from an airport or heliport, and you can’t fly higher than 400 feet. If you’re filming someone, you need to have their permission.
However, there are rules about how you can use your drone and where you can fly it in Connecticut. If you’ve never flown a drone before or just want a refresher on the basics of flying them legally, this guide will help!
Drone Rules In Connecticut
Drones Used Recreationally Should Be Flown Below 400 Feet
- Flying below 400 feet is a safety measure. This is the standard for recreational drone flying, and it’s for good reason.
- Why flying below 400 feet is important: If you fly above 400 feet, you may run into an issue with the FAA or other authorities. If you’re flying your drone near an airport or military base, they might not appreciate it.
- What happens if you fly your drone above 400 feet? If a commercial pilot spots your drone in their flight path and reports it, then the FAA can investigate and possibly fine you up to $1 million (yikes).
- What happens if you fly your drone near an airport? You could be fined up to $10,000 per violation by the FAA because this is considered “reckless endangerment.”
Drones Can’t Fly Over Public Events
Drones are prohibited from flying over public events, including parades, concerts and professional sports games. The FAA also prohibits drone flights in national parks, wildlife refuges and some other federal lands.
If you plan on using your drone for a public event like a parade or concert in Connecticut, make sure you check the airspace restrictions beforehand. For example:
- Hartford’s 2017 Summerfest was restricted due to military flight operations at Bradley International Airport (BGS). However, drone pilots still had access to nearby private land where they could fly their drones safely above crowds of people watching fireworks at night.
- A person flying an unmanned aircraft system (UAS) over Constitution Marsh Wildlife Management Area was told by state police that he could not do so because it was within five miles of Bradley International Airport (BGS).
Drones Must Remain Within The Operator’s Line Of Sight
You can’t fly a drone if the operator can’t see it, and that’s why drones must remain within the operator’s line of sight. If you have to fly beyond your line of sight, you’ll need to operate with a visual observer who has a clear view of the aircraft at all times.
Drones Must Be Registered With The Federal Aviation Administration
The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) requires that all drones over 0.55 pounds be registered with the FAA. This is a one-time registration and is valid for 3 years from the date of purchase. To register your drone, visit www.registermyuas.faa.gov
Basic Drone Laws Are Generally The Same For Every State
The basic drone laws are generally the same for every state, but make sure to check your state’s drone laws before flying a drone. State laws may be stricter than federal ones, and they may be more strict than federal laws.
How To Register Drone In Connecticut
There are many ways that you can legally fly drones. However, you must follow all local laws and regulations in order to do so.
The FAA has a list of restricted air spaces, which includes airports and other areas where drones may not be used or flown around. In addition, there are restrictions for flying at night and over 400 feet above ground level (AGL).
In Connecticut, it’s legal to fly certain small unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) at or below 400 feet AGL within city limits as long as you meet certain requirements.
It’s also legal to operate UAS between sunrise and sunset within five nautical miles from shorelines along Connecticut’s coastline. If you choose not to register your drone with the FAA then please note:
You May Register Your Drones Online At The Faa Website
You may register your drone online at the FAA website or by mail.
- If you register online, you must be at least 13 years old and have a valid email address and credit card. You must also have a drone that weighs less than 55 pounds.
- If you register by mail, follow these steps:
- Download and complete Form 8710-13 (PDF), “Certificate of Aircraft Registration/Proof of Ownership,” available on the FAA website in English and Spanish, then print it out; -Mail your completed form along with a copy of your proof of ownership (such as an aircraft bill of sale) to: UAS Registration Mailbox; -The FAA will send back a confirmation letter with the registration number assigned to your aircraft within 60 calendar days after receiving both items listed above.
If You Are Unable To Register Through The Website
If you are unable to register online, you can do so by mail. You will need to fill out a form and send it to the FAA, along with a payment for the registration fee.
If You Register By Mail, Please Note That It May Take A Few Weeks
If You Register By Mail, Please Note That It May Take A Few Weeks for your registration to be processed.
You’ll need a copy of your drone’s registration and a copy of your driver’s license or ID card in order to complete the application. If you have questions about what documents are needed for processing your registration, please contact (name) at (phone number) or email us at (email).
It is also possible to pay an additional fee for faster processing time through our online portal. If paying this fee, please include proof of payment with your completed registration form when mailing it back to our office.
You Must Carry Your Registration Certificate
You Must Carry Your Registration Certificate with you when flying your drone and show in law enforcement as needed. If you don’t have the certificate, then you can’t fly the drone.
Drones Are More Popular Than Ever And Sometimes
Drones Are More Popular Than Ever And Sometimes, people fly them for fun but their use is limited in some areas so make sure to follow all regulations.
In Connecticut, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) requires that all drones be registered before they can be flown. In order to register your drone with the FAA, you will need:
- Your name or address
- A credit card number or PayPal account
Are Drones Allowed In Connecticut
It’s good to know the rules when you’re flying your drone. To help, we’ve compiled a list of common questions about drone flying in Connecticut:
- Yes, as long as you follow the rules. You can fly in Connecticut, but you must follow federal, state and local laws.
- You must follow the rules of the FAA . The FAA has regulations for UAS (Unmanned Aircraft Systems) use in US airspace which are codified in 14 CFR part 107 and other parts of its regulations.
- You must also follow the rules of Connecticut . Under Connecticut General Statutes Section 53a-212e , it is illegal to operate a drone within 2 miles of an airport without notifying them beforehand and getting authorization from them first; if you disobey this law then penalties range from $100-$2000 per violation or up to 6 months in jail if caught with intent to commit terrorism crimes such as murder or kidnapping.”
Can I Fly A Drone Near A Hurricane?
The short answer is, “No.”
Drones can interfere with first responders, who are working hard to rescue people from harm and protect property. If a drone gets in their way, they may lose valuable time that could be spent saving lives.
Drones can also interfere with the flight path of other aircrafts and hinder their ability to navigate safely through airspace.
Finally, drones can hinder the ability of the National Weather Service (NWS) to gather data and issue warnings so that you are aware of all potential dangers ahead of time—including hurricanes!
Is It Illegal To Fly A Drone Over Private Property?
While it’s not illegal to fly drones over private property, you need to get permission from the property owner before doing so.
While a drone will not be able to see into any window of a house that is farther than 100 feet away, it could potentially be seen on the ground as well as from above if you’re flying below an altitude of 400 feet or more.
You should also keep in mind that people are allowed to photograph you with their cell phones or other devices if they see you taking pictures of them—so use discretion when flying around outside!
You should never fly your drone near airports or near military installations without first getting permission from those who run these areas; this includes politicians and other high-ranking officials.
Can I Fly A Drone Near An Airport?
You must be at least five miles away from an airport and at least 500 feet away from a heliport. You also can’t fly your drone over people or vehicles, or in areas where there are stadiums with seats for more than 30,000 people.
Drones are prohibited from flying within one mile of any emergency site (such as an accident), except for situations where the operator receives permission from local law enforcement and fire departments.
You should also avoid flying your drone near any national highway or state road.
Can I Fly My Drone Around People Or Animals?
Almost always, the answer to this question is no. Drones should not be flown over people or animals, even if they are small and/or at a distance. Drones should also not be flown over any large groups of people, such as concerts or athletic events.
If you have any questions about whether or not it’s safe to fly your drone in certain situations (such as if you’re unsure whether there will be many people present), err on the side of caution and just don’t fly it there!
Is There Any Way To Register My Drone Without Putting Such Information On The Internet?
If you don’t want to put such information on the internet and are willing to pay a fee, there are other ways to register your drone. You can also register your drone with one of these organizations:
- Local government or law enforcement agency;
- Community organization;
Drone Flying Is Governed By Federal Regulations
Drone Flying Is Governed By Federal Regulations that are set forth by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) but each state and city are free to create their own rules for drones.
Frequently Asked Question (drone Laws Connecticut)
How Do I Register My Drone?
Registration with the FAA is required if you plan on flying your drone commercially or recreationally over 0.55 pounds (250 grams), or if you want to fly it at night.
Can I Fly My Drone In Connecticut?
Yes! As long as all applicable laws are followed, there are no restrictions on where in Connecticut someone can fly a drone legally (as long as they don’t invade another person’s privacy).
Is It Illegal To Fly A Drone In Connecticut?
You may have heard that it is illegal to fly a drone in Connecticut. The fact is, though, it’s not illegal to fly a drone in the state—it’s just important to know the rules so you don’t get into trouble!
- You cannot fly a drone over people (except for yourself) or within 25 feet of any person. This means that if you’re standing on an empty beach and want to capture some footage of your friends playing with their dogs on the sand, you can’t do that from above unless they all agree beforehand and are okay with being recorded.
- Similarly, don’t fly your camera-equipped aircraft over buildings, cars or other vehicles on public roads.
- It’s also important to remember that flying drones at night violates federal law—you must operate only during daylight hours if possible (or until sunset).
- Lastly, there are restrictions against flying drones within 5 miles of airports; this is because aircraft could collide due to lack of visibility caused by low-flying drones.
Are There Any Disadvantages Of Flying A Drone Under Part 107?
There are also some disadvantages to flying under Part 107. In order to fly a drone, you must be at least 16 years old and a part 107 certified pilot. You must also pass the aeronautical knowledge test and TSA background check before being issued a remote pilot certificate with which you can legally operate your UAS.
It’s important to note that there may be additional requirements for certain operations—such as needing an airworthiness certificate for commercial use or requiring visual observer certification in some cases—so make sure you understand all applicable laws before flying your UAS!
Does The Faa Require Any Permission To Fly A Drone Under Part 107 In Connecticut?
No, you do not need permission from the FAA to fly a drone under Part 107. The FAA does not require any type of license or certification and people can fly for recreational or commercial purposes.
You must follow the rules of the National Airspace System (NAS), which means flying your drone below 400 feet above ground level (AGL) unless you get special permission from air traffic control; keep your drone within visual line-of-sight at all times when flying it; and stay away from other aircrafts, airports, heliports and other facilities that operate in controlled airspace.
In Connecticut, drone laws are pretty simple. You can fly your drone in public spaces and private property as long as you don’t interfere with the property owner’s rights or the public’s right to use those spaces. That means you can’t fly in parks, schools, or places with restricted access.
We hope that this article has been helpful to you in learning more about drone laws in Connecticut. If you still have questions, we encourage you to contact the FAA directly or check out their website where they have a detailed list of regulations and restrictions on drone use.