Drone Laws Georgia is a reference guide for anyone who wants to know the rules of flying unmanned aerial vehicles in United States. Given the fact that more and more people are using drones, they may not be aware of the local laws that apply to the areas where they are going to fly their drones.
You must be at least 16 years old to fly a drone in Georgia. You must be able to see your drone at all times while it’s in flight. You can’t fly your drone over people who are not involved in the operation of the drone.
Drone Laws Georgia
Georgia Has Several Laws Regarding Drones
When looking into drone laws Georgia, you should know an important distinction: the FAA regulates all unmanned aerial vehicles that weigh more than 0.55 pounds. Under the FAA’s authority, all drones fall under the same rules, no matter their size or purpose. This means that when flying a drone in Georgia, you’re bound by both federal and state laws.
It’s not just hobbyists who need to follow these rules—even companies must have permission from the FAA before they can operate a drone in Georgia.
While some businesses are exempt from this rule (such as those that use drones solely for research purposes), most companies need to get certified by taking an online course administered by the organization — and there isn’t an exemption just because you want to fly your drone at a birthday party or other private event.
What is restricted? The law indicates that operating a UAV on or above property without permission of the owner constitutes trespassing; however, this rule doesn’t apply if you receive permission from landowners within 200 feet of where you plan to operate your drone. You are also prohibited from using drones to harass wildlife for any reason.
If A Drone Is Being Used To Spy On You, That’s Illegal
If you feel like drones are being used to spy on you, at least in the state of Georgia, you can take action. In the case of unmanned aircrafts used for surveillance purposes, it’s important to be aware that if a drone is being operated in Georgia airspace and capturing photos or footage of individuals or their property without permission from the owners, that is illegal.
You have options if this happens to you—it is legal for a person to bring physical bodily harm against unmanned aircraft that has been used for surveillance without permission from the owners.
You may also use force or weapons to bring down the drone without having any sort of repercussions against yourself; it would be considered justifiable acts by law enforcement due to privacy issues with surveillance by drones.
However, it is important to note that if you do choose to capture a drone using whatever means necessary (even destroying it), law enforcement will need proof of what kind of surveillance was being performed before they’ll take further actions on your behalf.
As far as spying goes, whether through a drone or otherwise, there are some steps you can take to make sure your privacy rights remain intact while still having fun with your new drone!
You Can’t Use A Drone To Fly Over A Prison
According to Georgia Code 16-11-34, you cannot use a drone to fly over a prison or correctional institution with the intent of assisting in the escape of prisoners.
Even though many prisons in Georgia are plagued by drones flying over them and dropping contraband into yards, that doesn’t mean that police can use drones to look for criminals who escaped via those methods.
If a drone is used by law enforcement officers to spy on people, it must be done within the bounds of their 4th amendment rights under federal civil rights laws, as well as any applicable state laws.
If You Use A Drone To Intentionally Damage
You’re probably a law-abiding drone pilot, but it’s important to know the rules so you don’t get into trouble. Fortunately, Georgia has some of the most comprehensive and easy-to-understand drone laws in the country.
For example, if you use a drone to intentionally damage someone else’s property, you’re breaking the law under Georgia code section 9710.2(a)(1).
This is true even if you weren’t intending to damage that particular property—you just had it in mind as a general possibility before operating your drone.
Additionally, drones are not allowed within 500 feet of state prisons or jails (Georgia Code section 9710.2(c)) There are many other types of places where drones can be restricted or prohibited by federal or state law, including schools and churches.
All told there are more than 100 different sections of the Georgia Code related to drones!
You Can’t Fly Your Drone In Such A Way
You should keep this in mind as you fly your drone:
- Don’t injure people with your drone. This means you can’t fly near other people, or anywhere where people are likely to be, like stadiums and parks.
- Don’t hurt your neighbor’s property—or anyone else’s for that matter. For example, don’t fly near cars.
- If you hit someone’s car by accident, apologize and leave a note for them on the windshield with your name and phone number. It’s always better to be safe than sorry!
- Don’t damage property owned by the city or state either, like buildings or schools. You should also stay away from hospitals, places of worship, and any other type of infrastructure that provides an important service to the community.
Restrictions On Drones In Georgia
Georgia has many laws that apply to drones. Here are some of the most important things to keep in mind.
- Familiarize yourself with the drone laws for your location: It’s not enough to just know the federal aviation regulations. In Georgia, as in all states, you need to be aware of any additional state and local laws with which you must comply while operating your drone.
- Make sure you understand what these restrictions are, where they apply, and when they’re likely to be enforced. Certain cities within Georgia have their own rules about drone flights over certain areas; for example, Atlanta has rules that limit drones from flying over particular public parks without a permit (or at all). These types of city-specific laws can also change frequently, so make sure you’re up-to-date on them before taking off!
- Don’t fly your drone near people or spectators: A main concern when it comes to flying drones is safety because there’s always an increased risk that someone could get hurt by crashing into a tree or power line. As such, Georgia restricts anyone from flying their drone over groups of people unless those individuals are standing still and away from moving cars or other obstacles—like animals—that might distract them from avoiding collisions with nearby aircrafts during takeoff operations.
How To Register Drone In Georgia
Get An Faa Tracking Number
If your drone weighs more than 250 grams (0.55 pounds), you must register the model with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). This requires a one-time fee of $5, and the number must be marked on your drone in a clearly visible location.
After registration, you’ll receive an FAA tracking number that will serve as proof of registration for all of your drones weighing more than 250 grams.
To obtain an FAA tracking number, you’ll need to complete the following:
- Create an account with the FAA online portal for recreational drone operators, called FAA Drone Zone
- Register each individual drone by using its serial number and noting its weight when prompted to do so by FAA Drone Zone
Create Account In Faa Online Registration System
You will need to create an account in the Federal Aviation Administration’s (FAA) online registration system for owners and operators of small unmanned aircraft systems (sUAS), or drones, before you can register your drone. If you don’t already have a Web Services ID (USERNAME)
Follow the prompts to create your account, which should take less than five minutes. Once you have completed creating your account with the FAA Web Services Team, return to this page and continue registering your drone.
Fill The Form With Your Contact Details
Fill The Form With Your Contact Details.
- Type your Name (First, Middle and Last)
- Type your mailing address
- Type your email address
Type the following information about the drone you want to register:
- Manufacturer’s name
- Model designation of aircraft (drone)
- Serial number of the aircraft (drone)
- The Federal Aviation Administration Tracking Number for this registration application. It will be emailed to you upon successfully submitting this application.
Pay $5 Registration Fee With A Credit Card
There is a $5 non-refundable registration fee that must be paid to the Georgia Department of Revenue. You will need to make sure that you have your credit or debit card ready to submit payment when registering.
Be aware, however, that you will only be able to pay with American Express, Discover, Mastercard or Visa cards. The $5 registration fee covers a three year period and will need to be paid again after three years has passed if you plan on continuing use of your drone in Georgia.
Take A Printout Of The Registration Certificate
Remember that you are required to carry the certificate at all times when flying. You will be asked to show it to law enforcement if they request it and also as proof of registration to any person who is being overflown or who asks you to see it.
Always Keep Your Registration Certificate With You
You have to be able to show your drone registration certificate any time you’re flying your drone. If a federal, state, or local law enforcement officer asks to see it, you need to be able to produce it. If they don’t ask and later find out that your craft isn’t registered, they can make you pay a hefty fine or even put you in prison for up to three years!
If possible, print out a copy of the email receipt that confirms that you’ve registered your drone. This way, if someone asks for proof of registration and all you have is the printed confirmation of email receipt, at least you have something (though this is not an official substitute for the actual paper certificate). Alternatively, keep a PDF version on a mobile device so that showing it is easy if needed.
Losing your certificate may seem like losing much of its value—but don’t worry! You can contact them through email and request a replacement copy. There’s no cost associated with requesting this replacement copy.
Are Drones Allowed In Georgia
Drone Laws In Georgia
One of the most important rules you should know is that you can only fly within your line of sight. It is illegal to fly a drone out of your line of sight. Drone operators should also be aware that it is illegal to fly a drone within five miles of an airport.
In Georgia, the maximum altitude at which a drone may be flown is 400 feet above ground level. Keep in mind that this limit applies not just to airports, but to all areas in Georgia.
If you will be flying near people or objects on the ground, make sure to keep at least 25 feet between your drone and them while they are outside their vehicles or structures at all times; when inside their vehicles or structures, stay at least 100 feet away from them; and when inside stadiums or crowds, stay at least 150 feet away from them.
Where Are Drones Allowed To Fly In Georgia?
Drones are allowed in Georgia, but drone operators need to be aware of the state’s airspace restrictions.
If you’re flying your drone for non-recreational reasons (i.e., commercial work), you’ll need FAA approval before operating in the state. To get that approval, make sure you’ve passed an aeronautical test and secured a remote pilot certificate.
Once you have that certificate, there are a couple things to know:
- You can fly at or below 400 feet. If you see manned aircraft flying above your drone, always yield to them and land your drone immediately if it looks like it could pose a hazard to the aircraft’s flight path. If there is poor visibility or high winds around where you’re flying your drone, stay even lower than that 400 feet limit—about 10 feet above ground level—to avoid having your drone drift into the path of a manned aircraft in the clouds.
- You can fly within five miles of an airport as long as you contact both the airport operator and air traffic control tower before your flight.
Are Drones Allowed To Fly Over People In Georgia?
Fly Over People In Private Areas
In Georgia, you can fly over people in private areas. For example, if you’re flying for work and the people you’re flying over are involved in the flight, it’s legal to fly over them.
You have to be cautious if you’re flying a drone for fun or recreation—for instance, if you’re taking photos of a wedding party at an event space—because it’s illegal for drones to fly over people who are not involved in the flight.
Don’t Fly Over Public Spaces
In Georgia, it’s illegal to fly a drone above crowds of people and large events like races, sporting events, concerts and political rallies. Typically, this means that unless otherwise specified by law or statute, it’s best to avoid flying directly above public spaces like parks and other gathering places like beaches and boardwalks where lots of people congregate.
How Close Can A Drone Fly To People In Georgia?
You must not fly your drone within 5 miles of an airport, unless you have permission from the control tower. You must also remain clear of helipads and temporary flight restrictions (TFRs) due to forest fires or police activity.
Do not fly your drone within 250 feet of a helipad (helicopter landing area).
If you plan on flying near a stadium or sporting event, you must keep your drone 3 miles away from the venue, and it is illegal to fly above 400 feet in these areas.
Stay away from US military bases, as it is illegal to fly within 3 miles of one.
Can You Fly Your Drone At Night In Georgia?
Yes! You are allowed to fly your drone at night in Georgia, but you must be aware of and follow the rules.
First, you are required to have a light on your drone. The light must be visible and bright enough so that it can be seen at least 3 miles away (or whenever FAA regulations say).
Also, you should make sure that the light is not directly in front of or behind your drone. It can’t block your view of the drone, or block other people’s view of your drone. If a person were standing below the flight path of your drone and you turned on its lights while it was flying towards them, they could get blinded by the lights.
Can You Fly Your Drone If It Has A Camera In Georgia?
In the state of Georgia, drone laws are not as strict as other states. In other words, if you are flying your drone in the state of Georgia and it is equipped with a camera or your drone has a separate camera that attaches to it, then you can fly this type of UAS in the state of Georgia. However, there are certain regulations that must be followed when flying drones in Georgia.
The first regulation is that unmanned aerial systems are only allowed to fly over people and buildings in the state of Georgia if an appropriate method is being used to protect those individuals from being injured by any falling parts or debris on your UAS.
Also, if you live in the state of Georgia and wish to operate your UAS at night then this can be done but only when operated safely under appropriate lighting conditions.
What Is The Maximum Altitude Of A Drone In Georgia?
The FAA regulates the airspace in Georgia. You are allowed to fly your drone up to 400 feet above the ground, provided it is within visual line-of-sight (VLOS). You may also fly up to 400 feet above a structure if you remain within 400 feet of that structure.
According to the FAA website, you must fly your drone “below 400 feet.” However, this does not mean that you can’t fly at 401 or 402 feet. The FAA simply doesn’t have jurisdiction over anything below their stated altitude. If you’re flying at an altitude below 500 feet and maintain VLOS, you should be fine in most cases.
You Need To Know And Follow The Laws
Drones are subject to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) rules and regulations. The FAA requires all drones weighing more than 0.55 pounds, including payloads like on-board cameras.
There are some instances where flying a drone is illegal in Georgia:
- You cannot fly your drone over 400 feet above ground level without prior authorization from air traffic control, if it is located in Class B, C, D, or E airspace (generally near airports and other densely populated areas).
- You cannot fly your drone within 5 miles of an airport without notifying the airport operator or air traffic control tower beforehand and maintaining direct contact with them while you operate your drone.
- You cannot operate your drone over groups of people or stadiums full of people without permission from the FAA first. This also applies to operating within 25 miles of a large outdoor event like a festival or concert.
- You need to obtain permission from property owners before flying your drone over their land or private property even if you don’t take off from there or land there with it.
Frequently Asked Question (drone Laws Georgia)
Can I Fly My Drone Anywhere?
Yes! You can fly your drone anywhere in Georgia, but you do need to be careful of no-fly zones. If you want to know where those are, check the FAA website for specific rules and boundaries.
Do I Need To Register My Drone In Georgia?
You are required to register your drone in Georgia. You can do so online, or you can visit a local post office or police station and register in person. You must have a valid driver’s license or ID card on hand when registering your drone, as well as proof of ownership (such as the receipt from when you purchased the drone).
What Are Some Drone No-fly Zones In Georgia?
- Do not fly over people.
- Do not fly over buildings.
- Do not fly over stadiums.
- Do not interfere with emergency vehicles or operations at hospitals, law enforcement agencies, and other public safety organizations in Georgia.
- Don’t fly near private property without permission from the owner of the land being flown over; if you do get permission, make sure that you keep your drone within sight at all times (this means no flying out of line of sight).
- No flying near military bases or prisons.
Do I Need Liability Insurance To Fly A Drone In Georgia?
Yes, you must have liability insurance to fly a drone in Georgia. You can get a policy through the FAA and it’s free to all drone owners. However, if you already have an existing homeowners or renters policy with your insurance company, consider adding on this coverage as well.
It’s important to note that the FAA requires all drones to be registered if they weigh over 0.55 pounds or less before flying them outside of your own property (the registration process only costs $5). Insurance policies often require that you register your aircraft before purchasing coverage so consider this when looking into getting one for yourself!
You may not fly your drone within 5 miles of an airport without contacting the airport beforehand and getting permission from air traffic control. You may not fly your drone above 400 feet in altitude, or over crowds or stadiums during an event.
This leads us to Georgia, a state rich in drone opportunities with equally strict drone laws. Thus, Georgia is an important test for the FAA and stricter UAS rules in general.
A failure here could lead to further restrictions on the use of drones across the country. On that note, we have tried to compile the guide on drone laws in Georgia.