Are you looking for the latest drone laws in Michigan? You’ve come to the right place. Drone Legal is our free directory of US Drone Laws. We have compiled this list of drone laws for Michigan below. This page is created to help make sense of the confusing world of drone laws in Michigan. The state has some model legislation that could dictate the future of camera drones, which we are sure to see a lot more of in the coming years.
In Michigan, Drones cannot be used for surveillance without written consent from the property owner. Drones cannot fly above 400 feet or over any person not consenting to be recorded. Drones cannot interfere with firefighting equipment or emergency responses. Drone operators must yield right-of-way to emergency vehicles
Drone Laws Michigan
The Use Of Drones In Michigan Is Restricted By Several Laws
The Use Of Drones In Michigan Is Restricted By Several Laws. First, you need to know that federal law and state law may be different. For example, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has created a set of rules for drone operators who want to fly their drones for commercial purposes. These rules do not apply to noncommercial flying.
The Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) has created a set of rules and regulations covering the commercial use of drones in Michigan as well as some general information about how these devices are used.
Drone Laws Are Regulated At Both The State And Federal Level
This is a very important topic for drone pilots. While the Federal Government does not have any specific laws regarding drones, they do have jurisdiction over airspace and navigable waters. This means that federal authorities can enforce the rules of the road in any state or territory in which they see fit.
Federal law enforcement agencies are charged with enforcing all of these rules on land and sea across the entire United States — even if they’re only active within one state (e.g., Massachusetts) or one territory (e.g., Puerto Rico). As a result, it’s important to know what both state and federal governments require when operating your drone in Michigan.
The Michigan Department Of Transportation (mdot) Is Responsible For Drone Regulation In Michigan
The Michigan Department Of Transportation (mdot) Is Responsible For Drone Regulation In Michigan. MDOT has created a set of rules and regulations covering the commercial use of drones in Michigan. These are listed below:
- You must be at least 16 years old to operate a UAV commercially.
- All drone pilots must obtain an Unmanned Aircraft System (UAS) Certificate from the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). The FAA’s website provides more information on how to do this.
- You cannot use your drone for anything other than business purposes, such as inspecting property or aerial photography/videography.
- When flying your UAV above 400 feet, you must maintain visual line-of-sight with it at all times, except when ADS-B technology is used to maintain communications between the vehicle and its pilot(s).
Drones Cannot Be Used At An Altitude In Excess Of 400 Feet Above The Ground
Under Michigan law, drones cannot be used at an altitude in excess of 400 feet above the ground. This rule is designed to protect private citizens from being photographed or otherwise videotaped without their consent. The maximum altitude is measured from the ground level, not from any other fixed reference point such as a building or tree canopy.
Use common sense when it comes to your drone’s flight path: don’t fly directly over private property or homes unless you have permission from the owner/occupant (or are in compliance with other applicable laws).
Drones Cannot Be Used Within The Vicinity Or Close To Airports
Drones Cannot Be Used Within The Vicinity Or Close To Airports or other facilities with aircraft operations, without the express permission of the operator. This includes:
- Airports, heliports and any other facility located in Class E airspace
- Airfields and other restricted airspace (e.g., military bases) located within 5 miles of an airport with a control tower
- The area within a radius of 4 nautical miles from an airport/heliport with an operational control tower (unless you have permission from that facility’s operator)
Drones may not fly higher than 400 feet above ground level (unless you have permission from that facility’s operator). They also must stay at least 5 nautical miles away from wildfires that are being fought by firefighters; 2 nautical miles if there is no firefighting activity underway near where you want to fly your drone.
Drones can’t be flown during bad weather conditions like when dense fog exists along with low clouds or visibility less than 3 statute miles; heavy precipitation; thunderstorms or lightning storms are occurring nearby; winds exceed 25 mph; and/or temperatures are below 10 degrees Fahrenheit (-12 C). They also cannot hover directly over crowds of people without first obtaining special permission from air traffic control officials on duty at airports/heliports where such flights would occur.
Drones Cannot Be Used To Conduct Surveillance On Another Person
Michigan residents have a right to privacy under the state constitution. This means that you cannot use a drone to spy on someone, or take photos of them without their permission.
If you want to fly your drone near sensitive infrastructure (such as power plants, government buildings or military bases), you must obtain permission from the owner before taking any pictures or videos.
Drones Cannot Be Used Within 5 Miles Of Areas Where Wildfires Are Actively Burning
The FAA has also issued a temporary flight restriction, or TFR, for wildfires. This creates a no-fly zone within five miles of the fire and is in effect until further notice. The federal agency warns that drones can interfere with firefighting operations and cause serious injury to firefighters, as well as other people on the ground.
Flying drones near active wildfires may result in civil penalties or jail time if you’re caught violating these restrictions. To find out if there are any active fires in your area, visit this link from the National Interagency Fire Center
Drones Cannot Be Launched When Visibility Is Less Than 3 Miles
You must maintain visibility of your drone at all times. This can be done with the use of lights on your drone. In Michigan, drones must have lights visible from at least 3 miles away, but most pilots use them even when they have a clear line of sight to their drone—especially when flying in low-visibility conditions like fog or rain.
Drones can be equipped with flashing white lights that rotate around the circumference of the body or fixed red and white lights on top of each wing (these are often called “disco balls”). The FAA recommends that pilots use these lights for night operations as well as daytime flights in low-visibility conditions because it makes it much easier to see your home-built craft when you’re flying it back home after sunset or before dawn!
Pilots Operating A Drone Should Report It To Air Traffic Control If They Are Within 5 Miles Of An Airport
- The pilot operating a drone should report it to air traffic control if they are within 5 miles of an airport or flight path and have their drone’s lights on when flying between dusk and dawn.
- To make this call, pilots can contact the Flight Service Station (FSS) at 1-800-WX-BRIEF ($59 per minute). The operator will need to provide their name, phone number, what kind of aircraft they’re flying and where they’re located.
- It is important that pilots report drones near airports because there are many factors that could affect how well an airplane can see the drone. These include:
• Wind speed and direction
• Aircraft speed and altitude above ground level (AGL)
• Visibility from both the pilot’s perspective as well as from the cockpit using binoculars or night vision goggles
Do’s And Don’ts With Your Drone Before Flying It Over Michigan
It’s important to know what you can and cannot do with your drone before flying it in Michigan. The FAA has released a list of rules that must be followed when flying a drone, but the laws may vary from state to state.
Here are some general guidelines to keep in mind:
- Know where you’re allowed to fly your drone. Some states only allow recreational users to fly their drones below 400 feet, while other states require registration for commercial use. It’s important to check with local authorities on this matter before taking off!
- Be aware that there are areas where drones aren’t allowed at all (like over sports stadiums). If you’re caught flying illegally then consequences could include fines or confiscation of property
How To Register Drone In Michigan
Registering A Drone Can Be Done Online
You can register your drone online with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). You must provide your name, address, and email address to complete the process. You’ll also need to indicate what type of drone you have and its identification number (if there is one). There is no cost associated with registering a drone.
Registration is not required in Michigan, but if you fly drones recreationally outside of an airport zone or within five miles of an airport zone then registration is required by law.
Step: 1. Go To The Faa Website
- Go to the FAA website: https://www.faa.gov/uas/registration/
- Find your drone in the list of drones that require registration and click on it to learn more about what you need to do for registration, including how much it costs and where you can mail your paperwork once you’ve completed it online
Step: 2. Read About Registration And Marking Requirements
- You must be at least 13 years old to register a drone.
- You cannot use your registration number on any other aircraft. If you do, the FAA has the right to fine you $250 for each violation (up to $1 million).
- If someone else operates your drone, they are responsible for it and could receive a fine from the FAA if they break any rules or regulations, even if it’s not intentional or malicious intent on their part! The operator must keep their information up-to-date with the FAA so that law enforcement can contact them if necessary—so make sure this person isn’t near retirement age yet unless they’re willing to deal with fines later down the road!
Step: 3. Make Sure Your Drone Is Registered In Michigan
Once you’ve determined that your drone needs to be registered, the next step is to register it with the FAA. To do so, simply go to faa.gov/uas and click on “Register a Drone” in the left-hand sidebar menu.
If this is your first time registering a drone, you’ll need to create an account with the FAA. After logging in (or creating an account), you’ll be directed through a simple registration process that includes entering basic information about yourself, your drone(s) and their unique serial numbers (which can usually be found under or near where batteries are stored).
Step: 4. Check Whether Your Drone Is Subject To Registration
If your drone is over 0.55 pounds, it must be registered. If you’re not sure whether your drone falls into this category, please check the manufacturer specifications for weight.
If you are using your drone for hobby or recreational purposes and are unsure whether you need to register it, go here and follow the directions provided.
Step: 5. Register Your Drone With The Faa
Register your drone with the FAA. If you’re flying outside of Michigan, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) requires all non-commercial drones weighing more than 250 grams to be registered online. The FAA recommends that all hobbyists and recreational flyers register their drones as well, even if this step isn’t required by your state or local laws.
To register your drone with the FAA, visit their website at www.faa.gov/uas/registration/. You can also mail in a paper application if you prefer not to use a computer or tablet at home or work (the address is on page 4 of this document).
If you want to fly for business purposes—for example, as part of an existing business such as filmmaking—you’ll need to follow one additional step: contact your local airport authority and find out what rules they have regarding drones near airports or other sensitive areas before proceeding further with your registration process.
Step: 6. Pay The Registration Fee
You can pay the registration fee online or in person at any Secretary of State branch office. Online payments are accepted in cash, check, money order and by credit card.
You will be charged a $5 fee for each three-year registration period that you purchase, which is non-refundable.
If you choose to register using an out-of-state address as your official mailing address, you must also provide an e-mail address so that we may send an electronic confirmation of your purchase if needed for verification purposes.
Step: 7. Label Your Drone
Now it’s time to label your drone! The FAA website has detailed instructions for this step, but we’ll give you a quick rundown.
First, use permanent marker to write the following information on the drone:
- Your name and address
- The registration number from Step 6 (ex: N3ZFP)
Are Drones Allowed In Michigan
Drones Are Allowed In Michigan
Michigan has specific drone regulations that you must follow. According to the Michigan Aeronautics Commission, drones are allowed in the state as long as they meet federal laws. You must also follow state and local laws.
You will also need to be aware of privacy laws if you fly recreationally or commercially:
- Recreational users do not need a license, but they must follow rules such as staying more than 5 miles away from an airport and not flying higher than 400 feet into airspace where it is prohibited.
- Commercial users require a Remote Pilot Certificate with an Airman Certification Designation (ACD), which can be obtained through examination after passing a TSA background check and completing an FAA Safety Course at least every 24 months.
You Can Not Fly Your Drone In Michigan If It Weighs More Than 55 Pounds
You Can Not Fly Your Drone In Michigan If It Weighs More Than 55 Pounds. If your drone weighs less than 55 pounds, it is allowed to fly in Michigan.
If you have a larger drone that is too heavy for the state of Michigan, you should contact your local government to find out about any additional regulations that may apply to you.
There Are No Weather Restrictions That Prevent You From Flying Your Drone In Michigan
There Are No Weather Restrictions That Prevent You From Flying Your Drone In Michigan. You can fly your drone during the day and at night, in rain, wind, snow and fog. Be aware of lightning strikes when you are flying near thunderstorms or storm fronts.
If there is a chance that it’s going to rain while you’re flying your drone, check the weather forecast before taking off so you know if the conditions will be safe for its operation. Also keep an eye on what’s happening around you so that other people aren’t injured by debris falling from above or being caught in propellers spinning at high speeds (which could also cause injury).
You Must Fly Your Drone Below 400 Feet While In Michigan
You Must Fly Your Drone Below 400 Feet While In Michigan. The FAA’s maximum limit is 400 feet above the ground, but they encourage pilots to keep their drones within 200 feet of an airport’s airspace and avoid flying near other people where possible.
Do Not Fly Your Drone Over Or Near People In Michigan Without The Person’s Permission
You must not fly your drone over or near people in Michigan without their permission.You must not fly your drone over or near people in the United States without their permission.You must not fly your drone over or near people in general without their permission (this includes other countries).
You are not allowed to fly your drone over or near people in Michigan without their permission. If you do, you could be charged with a misdemeanor and fined up to $1,000. This includes flying over areas where other people may be present, such as parks and playgrounds or any area where there is no “clearly posted” sign indicating that drones are prohibited.
You Do Not Need A License To Fly A Drone Recreationally In Michigan
As you should know, drones may be operated in Michigan without a license. You must still follow all of the rules laid out by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).
You can get your drone license by passing an exam after completing some flight time and ground school. The test covers safety, navigation and meteorology.
If You Want To Fly A Drone Commercially In Michigan, You Need To Get A Part 107 License From The Faa
If you want to fly a drone commercially in Michigan, you will need to get a Part 107 license from the FAA. The good news is that recreational use of drones doesn’t require a Part 107 license.
The bad news is that if you’re flying for hobby or recreational purposes, but then decide later on that you want to start making money with your drone, it may not be as easy as just paying $150 and taking the exam—if your activities meet the definition of commercial use (which they probably do).
In fact, even if it’s just one customer who pays for each flight or photo shoot and doesn’t expect anything else from you at all (for example: aerial photography), this could still count as commercial use under current interpretations of federal regulations unless further clarifications are made in court cases by regulators or Congress eventually passes new legislation regarding these definitions.
There Are Several Exceptions To Flying A Recreational Drone In Michigan
In Michigan, drones are allowed to fly for the following purposes:
- For commercial purposes.
- For educational, academic, or research purposes.
- For public safety purposes.
- As model aircraft hobby or recreational purposes as long as they follow the rules below.
- Within five miles of an airport (if you’re not a pilot). In this case, you must notify the airport operator before flying within 5 miles of their airspace and be aware that there may be other restrictions in place due to weather conditions or other factors that could affect visibility of your drone and its surroundings during flight time (for example, fog).
- You must also use appropriate operating frequencies when communicating with air traffic control towers while within this radius around airports because they will require everyone using them at all times — including drone pilots — so it’s important that you do so properly before take off!
Be Careful When Flying Your Drone Over Michigan’s Gorgeous Natural Parks And Lakes
When you’re flying your drone over Michigan’s gorgeous natural parks and lakes, be careful.
- Wildlife: You have to be extra aware of wildlife when you’re out in the wild. The last thing you want is to accidentally harm a deer or another animal by flying your drone near them.
- Weather: Don’t fly your drone when there are storms brewing nearby or winds are strong enough that they could knock down your drone without much effort on their part. You don’t want to lose something that costs hundreds of dollars because of bad weather conditions!
- People: Always try not to fly over people’s heads unless it’s absolutely necessary—it might make them uncomfortable if they feel like their privacy has been invaded with all the buzzing around them from above! Also, never fly directly over anyone who might be afraid of heights (like children), since being so high up in the air can cause panic attacks even in adults sometimes!
- Terrain: Make sure there aren’t any rocks or other obstacles before taking off into flight!
In general, the state prohibits flying drones over 400 feet, within 5 miles of airport, over private property without consent from the owner of that property, within 500 feet of public gathering like parade or sporting event, or in way that interferes with first responders’ ability to do their jobs.
Drone laws in Michigan are becoming more and more restricted, many of those are state restrictions. For example, a permit is generally needed to fly over any public park in the state, which makes drone photography at places like Hartwick Pines State Park very difficult. In a nutshell, a lot of things can get you into trouble. Remember, it’s punishable by law to fly in controlled airspace without permission.
Frequently Asked Questions (drone Laws Michigan)
What Are Michigan’s Drone Laws?
You can fly drones in Michigan just as long as you follow the Federal Aviation Administration’s rules and regulations. You can get a special permit from the FAA if you want to use your drone for commercial purposes.
Where Can I Fly My Drone In Michigan?
You can fly your drone in Michigan as long as you follow these rules:
- Your drone must be within line of sight. Keep it within your sight at all times so that you can see where it is going.
- Your drone must stay below 400 feet altitude. The FAA requires drones to be flown well below 400 feet, or roughly two football fields high, so they don’t interfere with other aircraft flying higher in the air.
- You must stay away from airports and heliports unless you’ve received permission from the airport operator to fly within five miles of an airport runway during daylight hours only (sunrise to sunset). If this applies to where you want to fly your drone, contact the airport beforehand and make sure they’re okay with allowing civilian drones there before proceeding further with your plans!
Is There Anything Else That’s Important For Me To Know About Michigan’s Laws For Flying Drones?
- Don’t fly over people. You must stay at least 25 feet away from any person or property not involved in the operation of your drone.
- Don’t fly over roads and highways, or near stadiums where sporting events are being held.
- Don’t fly a drone within 1 mile of any prison.
- Don’t fly a drone within 500 feet of any public school or school grounds, unless you get permission from the school district superintendent and all other relevant authorities first.