In the past few years, drones have become an increasingly popular way to capture footage and photos. From capturing an aerial view of your favorite trail run in Zion National Park to documenting your family reunion, these flying cameras have many uses.
You may not fly a drone within 100 feet of an airport without first contacting the airport manager. You also may not fly a drone within 500 feet of any manned aircraft. Lastly, you may not fly over private property without receiving consent from the owner of said property first.
Unfortunately, this popularity has led to some bad actors who abuse the technology for their own purposes. For example, it’s not uncommon for people to use drones to spy on neighbors or even peep through windows at night (no joke).
So as with any piece of technology that can be used for both good and bad—think guns or cars—there are laws governing how you should use drones in Utah. Let’s take a look at those drone laws below!
drone Laws Utah
It’s important to know that in Utah, it is legal to fly a drone with the following laws in place:
- You must be at least 16 years old.
- You must be the only person operating the drone. If someone else is flying your drone, they must have a remote pilot certificate (more on this below).
- Do not fly your drone over 400 feet above ground level or any closer than 500 feet from an airport without permission from air traffic control personnel or an operator of an airport using active runway lighting.
- Keep your drones within sight while they are airborne so you don’t accidentally violate these rules or harm others with them if something goes wrong mid-flight (like an accident). And don’t fly near emergency responders or people on the ground if it means they could get hurt by colliding with your UAVs!
you Must Not Fly Over 400 Feet
You must not fly your drone over 400 feet. This is the maximum altitude that you can fly a drone in the US, and it also applies to drones being flown in Utah. If you reach this height, your drone risks becoming an air traffic hazard and could be shot down by military or civilian authorities.
you Must Keep The Drone In Sight At All Times
You must keep the drone in sight at all times.
This means that you must be able to see your drone at all times while it’s in flight. You cannot rely on the camera on your mobile device or tablet to provide visual line of sight, nor should you depend on the built-in camera on a hand-held controller or other remote control device if available.
Be aware that laws differ from one state to another, even if they’re related and share borders! You’ll want to do some research before trying out any of these rules yourself.
don’t Fly Near Emergency Responders Or People On The Ground
- Emergency responders, including police officers and firefighters, are exempt from the drone flying ban. However, their operations should not be disrupted.
- Airports have specific no-fly zones that include runways, taxiways and aircraft parking areas. Drones must also stay clear of any aircraft taking off or landing at an airport (within 5 miles). It’s important to note that airports often extend further than what is shown on maps so don’t let your drone prevent pilots from safely landing their planes!
- Typically it’s a good idea to avoid flying near other people as well as animals you don’t know personally or buildings such as churches or houses with people living inside them.
be Aware Of Airspace Restrictions
Drones are prohibited in all airspace above national parks, which includes the airspace over all wilderness areas.
Drones are also prohibited within five miles of any airport, heliport or seaplane base, or any other facility used for public aircraft operations (including military bases).
Drones that weigh 55 pounds or more must remain at least 5 miles away from military airfields.
If you’re flying your drone at night and plan to do so in controlled airspace:
make Sure Your Drone Is Registered If It Weighs More Than 0.55 Pounds (or 250 Grams)
Unregistered drones are banned from flying in many areas, including Salt Lake City and St. George, unless the operator has permission from the property owner or an appropriate permit to fly. You can be fined up to $2,500 for flying without registering your drone—even if you’re just a hobbyist!
learn More About Utah’s Drone Laws Here
To learn more about Utah drones, you can check out our comprehensive drone law guide. In addition, we’ve put together this article to give you an overview of the laws and regulations in place in Utah.
If you’re a hobbyist or commercial operator who flies within the state boundaries, it’s important that you familiarize yourself with all applicable laws and regulations.
how To Register Drone In Utah
If you’re going to fly a drone in Utah, you’ll need to register it with the state. Here’s what you need to know about registering your drone with the FAA and how to register it with Utah.
To register your drone in Utah, you’ll need to go to the Utah Department of Transportation website and select the “Register a Drone” option.
This step is important, so don’t skip it! To register your drone in Utah, you need to create a new account on the state’s website. It will ask you for some personal information like your name and address, but also things like your date of birth and email address. You can use any email address that isn’t already being used by someone else—just make sure it’s not one that looks like it was made up (like “[email protected]”). Once you’re done with this part of the process, they’ll send you an email so that they have proof that they know where to send their next message if anything goes wrong later down the line.”
Once you’ve entered all of your information, click “submit.” You’ll receive a confirmation email. Print out this confirmation email and keep it with your drone, because that’s how you’ll prove that you registered your drone if the cops ever show up asking questions about it.
If you don’t register before flying, it could end up costing $27 for each day that passes after the registration deadline (as of January 1st).
registering Your Drone In Utah Is Simple And Can Be Done Quickly
The process of registering your drone in Utah is simple and can be done quickly. You simply have to register online, which takes a few minutes to complete. The whole process will cost you nothing, as it’s free to do so, and you can even register multiple drones if needed.
are Drones Allowed In Utah
Drones are a great way to get an aerial view of your surroundings. However, you need to make sure that you know the laws and regulations around flying drones in Utah before taking off.
are Drones Allowed In Utah?
Yes. Drones are allowed in Utah as long as you follow the rules. Drones are not allowed in national parks and other protected areas, such as national forests and the Wasatch Mountains (which contain several ski resorts).
are Drones Allowed In National Parks?
No. Drones are not allowed in National Parks, National Forests or the Wasatch Mountains. These are all protected areas that help to preserve and protect natural resources for the enjoyment of future generations.
Drones have been known to disturb wildlife and even cause injury to animals who become startled by their presence. Because drones can fly so close to these animals without warning, they pose an unnecessary risk of injury or death that isn’t necessary when enjoying these beautiful lands!
are Drones Allowed In National Forests?
Yes, drones are allowed in National Forests. However, they must weigh 55 pounds or less and have a registration number on the drone. You can find a list of national forests here .
You will also need to follow basic rules for flying drones:
- Drones may only be flown from sunrise to sunset
- Drones may not be flown over groups of people
- Drones must be flown under 400 feet and within 400 feet horizontally from any person not associated with the drone operation (i.e., property owner).
are Drones Allowed In The Wasatch Mountains?
Unfortunately, drones are not allowed in the Wasatch Mountains. This is because the Wasatch Mountains are part of a federally designated wilderness area. Wilderness areas are protected from human impact and development by law, which means that using drones to explore them isn’t permitted.
If you see someone flying a drone in this area, please report it to rangers so they can investigate.
are Drones Are Allowed In Zion National Park?
Drones are allowed in Zion National Park.
- You must fly drones at least 400 feet above ground unless you have FAA authorization to fly lower.
- You must fly drones at least 5 miles from the park boundary.
- Flying is only permitted during daylight hours (half an hour before sunrise and half an hour after sunset).
- Make sure your drone is being operated safely and responsibly, not just in the park but everywhere else too!
In Utah, it is illegal to fly a drone within 5 miles of an airport without prior permission from the airport operator or management. It is also illegal to fly within 100 feet of any person, building or property without consent.
We hope that this article has helped you gain an understanding of the drone laws in Utah. If you have any questions or concerns about flying drones, please contact local law enforcement.
Frequently Asked Questions (drone Laws Utah)
Where Can I Fly My Drone In Utah?
If you’re going to fly your drone in Utah, it’s important to understand the rules and regulations. We’ve put together a list of frequently asked questions about drone laws in Utah so that you can get started flying safely.
- Can I fly my drone anywhere?
- What are the rules for flying drones at night?
- Do I need to register my drone with the FAA?
What Are The Rules For Flying My Drone In Utah?
- You must be able to see your drone at all times.
- You can’t fly above 400 feet in the air.
- Don’t fly over people who aren’t involved in your flight operation (you can, however, fly over people if you have their permission).
- Don’t fly within five miles of an airport.
- Don’t fly within two miles of a stadium during any event occurring there (this includes high schools, colleges and universities).
Do I Have To Register My Drone In Utah?
Whether you own a drone or not, it’s important to know that the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) requires all aircraft owners to register their drones. You can do this online at FAA.gov/register-drone-or-UAS.
Can I Fly My Drone For Business Purposes In Utah?
In Utah, you can fly your drone for business purposes. However, if you plan to use drones for commercial purposes (not just recreational) in the state, you must get a commercial drone license. In addition to this license, you’ll need permission from both the FAA and the property owner where your business will be conducting its operations.
You’ll also need to apply for a waiver from the FAA before being allowed to fly your drone commercially in Utah. The approvals process varies based on what type of activities are planned as well as how many people will be involved with operating or watching over these aircrafts during flights .
Can I Fly Near Airports In Utah?
There are a few regulations you have to follow if you want to fly near airports in Utah. For example, you must fly at least five miles away from any airport, and at least 1000 feet above the ground. If you’re flying within five miles of an airport, however (or any other structure that is designated by air traffic control), then it’s required that you notify the airport operator and air traffic control tower before flying.
You don’t need permission from anyone else to fly around Salt Lake City International Airport or Hill Air Force Base—but do keep in mind that they may ask you not to get too close while filming on their property!