If you plan on flying your drone in Arkansas, there are several laws that you need to know. Flying a drone may be a lot of fun, but regulations can be difficult to keep up with. Engineers at Drone Reviewer created an article that explains the latest drone laws in Arkansas.
Drone pilots in Arkansas must operate their drones only where they have permission from the owner, they must not fly their drones above 400ft. They must not fly their drones within 5 miles of an airport without permission from the airport’s control tower.
Where Can You Legally Fly Your Drone?
You must take care to avoid flying in restricted areas such as airports, jails, and military bases. For more details on these restrictions, check out the FAA website. In addition, be aware of low-flying aircraft and do not fly your drone within two miles of any one of Arkansas’s many small airports. In the event that you want to operate your drone near an airport, please contact local authorities first.
It’s important to note that Arkansas does not have a two-party consent law. So if you’re in public, you don’t expect to be in a private place and someone takes a video or photo of you, there’s no expectation of privacy. However, if you are in your home, there is an expectation of privacy.
Essentially, if you’re outside and want to avoid being photographed or filmed by a drone hovering over your house—or by anyone else for that matter—you should close the curtains.
Do You Have To Have A License Or Pass A Test To Operate A Drone?
As it currently stands, you do not need a license to operate a drone in Arkansas. However, you are required to register your drone with the FAA if it weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250g). To register, visit the FAA website and complete the registration process for $5.
The FAA does require those who wish to fly drones for commercial purposes to pass an Aeronautical Knowledge Test; however, no such requirements exist for recreational operators flying drones under 55 lbs.
Drone Training In Arkansas
If you’d like to receive training in drone flight, the Arkansas Aviation Historical Society offers two courses.
The Arkansas Aviation Historical Society is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of the history of aviation in Arkansas. It is located at
Fort Smith Regional Airport (4500 Kennett St., Fort Smith, AR 72903).
For more information on these courses, contact the Arkansas Aviation Historical Society by phone at 479-785-3643 or email them.
Make Sure You’re Flying Your Drone In The Right Place And At The Right Times
As a drone pilot, it’s important that you’re aware of the areas where you’re allowed to fly your drone. The FAA regulates which airspace you can fly in based on where you are, so check their website for a full list of guidelines and rules.
In addition to considering the airspace regulations, remember that it’s illegal to fly your drone over someone else’s property without their permission. It’s also illegal to use the footage from your flight if you don’t have the landowner’s permission for filming.
You’ll need a permit if you want to film on someone else’s property and have special permission if you want to film near a school or prison.
How To Register Drones In Arkansas
Anyone who pilots a drone in Arkansas must register their drone before flying. This includes both hobbyist and commercial drone pilots. In Arkansas, it is not legal for you to fly your drone if you do not first register with the FAA.
To learn more about registering your drone in Arkansas, please read the following sections:
- Why should I register my drone?
- What information is required for registration?
- How long does it take to register my drone?
- How much does it cost to register my drone?
If You Live In Arkansas, Here’s How To Register Your Drone With The Federal Aviation Administration
To register your drone with the FAA, you have a few options. You can do it online, by phone, via mail, or in person at an FAA-approved registration facility. Online is probably easiest and quickest, but if you need to use another registration method for some reason, those are available too.
The cost of registering with the FAA is $5.
Head To The Faa’s Dedicated Website For Drone Registration
Head To The Faa’s Dedicated Website For Drone Registration. It’ll take you through the process of registering your drone, which includes a quiz at the end to make sure you understand safe flight operations and flying etiquette.
If you don’t pass the quiz, you can take it again as many times as necessary until you pass.
Read Through The Safety And Legal Guidelines For Using Drones In Arkansas
If you’re planning to fly your drone in the state of Arkansas, you’ll want to know what laws and regulations apply. It’s important to be aware of the rules for flying drones in your location, so please review the following information carefully. This page provides an overview of drone laws in Arkansas, as well as links to relevant statutes and documents.
Determine If You Need A Recreational Or Commercial Registration
If you want to use your drone for purely recreational purposes, you do not need to register with the FAA. You will, however, have to abide by certain restrictions. You can only fly for fun if:
- Your aircraft weighs less than .55 lbs (250 grams)
- You fly below 400 feet in uncontrolled airspace
- Your aircraft is within visual sight at all times
- If your aircraft weighs more than .55 lbs., you must complete a safety course and pass an aeronautical knowledge test at an FAA-approved center
Need Aviation Reference Number
If you’re registering your drone for commercial use, please note that you’ll need an aviation reference number to proceed with registration. Your local FAA office can give you a temporary reference number if needed.
Drones are likely to used in a commercial setting when the operator is using it for any of the following purposes:
- To make money (e.g. selling photos or videos)
- To conduct work that isn’t strictly recreational (e.g. real estate photography)
- For public safety operations (e.g., police or fire department use)
Provide The Required Information
- Enter your name, address and email. You can also choose to provide a phone number.
- After you enter your contact information, make sure you have the required number of drones that need to be registered. You can register for both recreational and commercial use at the same time.
- Make sure to include your credit card information so that we can process your payment. Keep in mind that registration is free!
Information During Registration Process
During the registration process, you will be asked to provide your name, physical and mailing addresses, email address and phone number. This information is required by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) for data collection purposes. Rest assured, this information is not shared with any other government agencies or private companies.
Provide Additional Details About Your Drone(s)
- Provide the make, model, and serial number of your drone(s), if applicable.
- Provide the total weight of your drone(s).
- Provide information about where you plan to fly your drone(s) and how frequently you expect to do so.
- Provide a contact email address for assistance from Arkansas’ registration team.
Registering Drones In Arkansas Is Simple And Inexpensive
Registering your drone in Arkansas is simple and inexpensive: it will cost you less than ten USD, and the registration is valid for three years. This process can be completed in under five minutes.
The Federal Aviation Administration’s website has a detailed overview of how to register a drone. It explains how to update your registration information, how to register multiple drones at once, and how to register a drone as a gift.
Are Drones Allowed In Arkansas
Arkansas Is A Drone-friendly State
The state government of Arkansas has not passed any laws specific to drone use. Instead, the Federal Aviation Administration regulates all drone activity in the state. This means that if you want to fly a drone in Arkansas, you must follow federal regulations, but the state has no rules regarding drone use beyond what is mandated by the FAA.
Arkansas allows drone flight for both recreational and commercial purposes, with no additional restrictions on commercial flights (aside from those imposed by the FAA). The only exception is that first-person view (FPV) drones are not allowed within five miles of an airport without prior permission from air traffic controllers.
Drones Are Allowed In State Parks
While the state of Arkansas does not have any specific drone laws, it is recommended that you follow FAA rules and regulations.
According to the State Parks website, drones are allowed on state park property as long as you follow FAA rules and do not fly over private property or at night.
Local Ordinances May Apply
In addition to the state laws, many cities and counties in Arkansas have their own ordinances regarding drone use. As a general rule, local laws take precedence over state laws (and sometimes can be more strict). It’s difficult to provide an exhaustive list of every city’s rules and regulations—especially since they’re subject to change.
That being said, there are some common restrictions among many of these organizations—for example, it is against the law in Fort Smith to fly a drone too close to the airport. In Texarkana, it is illegal to fly drones near churches or schools.
In Benton County, you have to get permission from local officials before flying a drone at all. Therefore, we recommend looking up your county and city policies before flying just about anywhere that isn’t your backyard.
You Cannot Fly Your Drone Over Private Property
- You cannot fly your drone over private property without the permission of the landowner.
- You can fly your drone over state parks and federal lands, but you must abide by all park rules and regulations. If a park bans pets, for example, it also bans drones.
- You can fly your drone over public property, like beaches and sidewalks.
- You cannot fly your drone over roads or rivers.
You Cannot Launch Drones From State Parks
While there aren’t any laws against flying drones in state-owned parks, you can’t launch your drone from one. Permission to launch drones has to be given by the park superintendent, but you’ll likely have to provide proof of insurance and a flight plan before he or she will agree to it.
Do Not Fly Over Private Property Or At Night
- Drone owners in Arkansas will be pleased to know that the state is a very drone-friendly one.
- Arkansas State Parks has a number of parks that are welcoming of drones and allow their use—as long as you’re careful about where you fly them!
- The state parks that permit drones to fly include Lake Dardanelle State Park, Crater of Diamonds State Park, Devil’s Den State Park, Mount Magazine State Park, DeGray Lake Resort State Park, Pinnacle Mountain State Park, Toltec Mounds Archeological State Park and Village Creek Landing.
- The rules related to drone use are complicated and differ from state to state. In Arkansas, the laws related to using drones can get tricky. You definitely CANNOT fly it over private property or at night without permission (and if you do have permission to fly in those areas at night you need special lighting).
You can’t fly your drone over any airport, national park, or other federally owned land. You can not fly drone over 400 feet in altitude, or within 5 miles of a police station. It is also illegal to use a drone to interfere with communications signals or other radio equipment.
Drone laws in Arkansas can be quite complicated and, because of this, it is important to know what requirements you need to meet before flying a drone. Hopefully the information contained in this article will provide you some insight on what rules to follow.