Drones are a much loved and rather new flying object in the world today. As they can be used by anyone regardless of their age, there are a lot of people flying drones every day which might not be aware that there are drone laws Kansas as well. Always make sure you’re informed about this to avoid any problems.
Summary of The Drone Laws in Kansas
- The maximum altitude for flying a drone in Kansas is 400 feet above ground level
- Drones must be kept within the operator’s visual sight line at all times
- Contact local law enforcement if unsure of the legality of flying a drone in an area
- Drones cannot be flown over prisons, public safety facilities, private property, schools, school buses or school property, or near wildlife that may be disturbed or harmed
- Drones cannot be used for hunting or fishing in Kansas.
Drone Laws Kansas
Kansas is one of the best places in the country, and perhaps even the world, to fly a drone. It has fewer restrictions than many other states and has put a lot of thought into crafting its laws to make it easy for anyone who wants to fly drones.
Max Altitude: 400 Feet
According to the FAA, you can fly your drone up to 400 feet above ground level. This means that you have a lot of flexibility in where and when you can fly your drone. But it also means that there are some limitations on how high you can go.
Most states have a 400 foot limit for drones and only six states allow pilots to reach higher altitudes (we’ll get into those later). In Kansas, pilots must stay below 400 feet—even if they’re not near an airport or airspace designated by the FAA.
Must Fly Within Visual Sight Line
In the state of Kansas, you must keep your drone within visual sight line at all times. This is a restriction by the FAA and not the state, so even if it’s legal for you to fly your drone in Kansas without any restrictions on where or when you can fly, it’s still illegal if you don’t maintain visual sight line of your aircraft.
If there are clouds in the sky that limit visibility, this restriction does not apply – but as soon as those clouds pass, or any other kind of weather changes occur which would affect visibility (foggy conditions), you must be able to see your aircraft with unaided eyesight.
You can use binoculars or other vision enhancing equipment to help see through these conditions; however they cannot be used while flying your drone (in other words: no first person view cameras).
Contact Local Law Enforcement If In Question
If you are unsure whether or not it’s legal to fly your drone in the area where you are, contact local law enforcement. This can be done online using one of the many forms found on the FAA website. If a situation warrants an emergency response, do not attempt to contact the FAA yourself and wait for them to get back with you.
The FAA provides information regarding the regulations that govern model aircraft operation, along with other important safety information regarding drones and how they should be navigated safely in UAS airspace at: https://www.faa.gov/uas/.
If there is any question about whether or not certain areas are restricted from drone flight or if there is any concern about potential interference with commercial airplanes or helicopters overhead—which would result in immediate grounding of your drone—contact local law enforcement immediately by dialing 911 or your local non-emergency police number (if available).
No Flights Over Prisons Or Public Safety Facilities
You may not fly over prisons, public safety facilities, or critical infrastructure. Those areas are off-limits to drones—and it’s a good idea to keep your drone out of the sky during major events such as concerts and sporting events, too.
Flying over emergency response efforts is also prohibited. That means if you see a fire truck on the side of the road with its lights flashing and siren blaring, you should land your drone immediately.
You Can Not Fly Over Private Properties
In Kansas, you are allowed to fly a drone but not over people’s private property. If you want to fly your drone for recreational purposes, you must follow FAA guidelines. You can also use your drone for commercial purposes if you have the proper certification and permission from the FAA.
Commercial use of drones includes:
- Construction monitoring
You Cannot Fly A Drone Over Prisons, And Jails
It is against the law to fly a drone over prisons, and jails.
You cannot fly a drone over schools, school buses or school property.
It is also illegal to fly a drone over people’s private property without their permission. This includes taking photos of them or their property with the intent to sell said photos.
Drones are not allowed for hunting or fishing in Kansas.
You Are Not Allowed To Use Drones To Hunt Or Fish In Kansas
If you are a hunter or fisher in Kansas, you must know that hunting and fishing with drones is illegal. Drones can be used to view game animals, but not for any purpose other than to take pictures or video of the animals.
You may not use drones near wildlife if it will disturb them or cause them harm in any way. If this happens, people who do this could get fined up to $1,000 or even go to jail for up to six months!
You Cannot Use Drones To Take Pictures Of Anyone Without Their Permission
It’s important to note that the laws regarding drone photography and video recording focus on individuals. You cannot use a drone to take pictures of other people without their permission, but you can capture images of public property without asking for permission. For example, if your neighbor has a swimming pool in their backyard, you may not be able to legally use your drone to take pictures or videos in order to sell them online or put them on social media channels.
However, if you’re flying your camera-equipped quadcopter over a public park and see someone laying out by their poolside home, there are no restrictions on capturing those images and sharing them publicly (as long as they are taken from an altitude where any person present would not be able to determine who was photographed).
You May Not Use Drones On School Grounds
Drones are not allowed at schools unless you have permission from school officials or teachers. If you are a student of the school, you can use a drone on campus, but only when the teacher gives permission and when it is appropriate for class instruction. You cannot fly over school property with your drone, even if it is inside the classroom or in some other area where students are allowed to work with them under supervision.
Related: Denver Drone Laws
How To Register Drone In Kansas
Step 1: Registering With State Authority
To register a drone in Kansas, you need to obtain the following documents from the state authority:
- A completed application form (available online or at any local office)
- A copy of your current driver’s license or non-driver photo ID card (does not have to be current)
- Proof of ownership such as the manufacturer’s name and model number; bill of sale; or sales invoice
- Payment for $26 payable by check, money order, cashier’s check or credit/debit card
Step 2: Paying The Fees
If you paid by credit card or debit card, you should receive an email confirmation of your payment. If you used a check, your registration will be processed once we receive it by mail.
The registration fee is $22.50 and must be paid within 30 days of purchasing the drone for use in Kansas. You can pay online using Visa, American Express or MasterCard credit cards; through PayPal; or with a check mailed to:
Kansas Department of Transportation
Bureau of Motor Vehicles Customer Services Branch
301 SE Quincy Street – Room E-208A/B
Topeka KS 66612
Step 3: Marking Your Drone
Before you fly your drone, it must be marked with a permanent or long lasting label or decal. The label or decal must contain the registration number, which is the number that was assigned to you by the FAA when you registered.
You can get this information from your Certificate of Aircraft Registration and/or Aircraft Marking in order to place it on the outside of your drone. If your drone does not have a removable battery, then mark its battery with permanent marker and include a note that says “do not replace” so that others know not to take it out when they check for registration numbers.
Step 4: What To Do After Registration
- Keep your copies of the registration in a safe place. Your registration card, as well as the confirmation email, are proof that you are legally allowed to fly your drone in Kansas. You must show this information to law enforcement if they ask for it.
- Keep a copy at the base of your drone at all times. If you are stopped by an officer who wants to see your paperwork, having it readily available will help avoid any confusion or delay.
- What do I do if I sell or give away my drone?
- What do I do if I lose my registration?
- What do I do if my aircraft is damaged or destroyed?
Step 5: How To Register In Kansas Remotely
If you prefer to register your drone remotely, the process is slightly different. In addition to the information required for on-site registration, you will need to answer a few additional questions about your drone’s type and model. The state of Kansas recommends that remote registrants also include their email addresses so they can receive confirmation of their registration number via email.
Once you’ve registered your drone with the state, they’ll send an email confirming this information along with a unique registration number that should be printed out and affixed to both sides of the drone so it can be easily read from above or below (or from any angle).
Remote registrations are free and available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week through April 30th 2020.
Choose A Registration Method That Is Most Convenient For You
There are three different ways you can register your drone in Kansas:
- In-person: Visit any Kansas Department of Revenue office.
- Remotely: Use the online registration system, which is only available to people who live in Kansas. This method also allows you to pay by credit card or debit card. The fee for remote registration is $12 per annum (the same as in-person registration).
- By mail: Complete the form and send it with payment to the address listed on the form, along with a copy of your proof of identification (such as a driver’s license or passport).
Are Drones Allowed In Kansas?
Yes, drones are allowed in Kansas for both recreational and commercial use, but drone operators must follow FAA guidelines and local laws. However, drone operators are not allowed to fly over private properties in Kansas without prior permission.
It is also required to register your drone with the FAA and affix the FAA drone registration number to your aircraft prior to flying in Kansas. Additionally, there are city ordinances that prohibit drones from flying near people, over large events, or over private property without prior permission.
Frequently Asked Question (drone Laws Kansas)
Are There Any Places Where I Cannot Fly With My Drone in Kansas?
The short answer is both yes and no. Generally, you can fly your drone anywhere you want. There are a few things to keep in mind though:
- If it’s private property, don’t fly over it without permission. This includes people’s homes and businesses like farms, stores and more. The only exception is if the owner invites you onto their property for photography purposes (for example). They must be present during this time as well.
- Don’t fly over public property such as parks or schools unless given permission from the property owner/manager. For example, if a park has signs saying “NO DRONES ALLOWED” then follow those rules! Other places that may have restricted zones include airports, military bases and federal buildings
- You cannot take pictures of people without their direct consent (this applies even when they are standing on public land). You also cannot invade someone else’s privacy by flying too close to them
Can I Fly During Nighttime Hours?
The answer to this question is a bit more complicated than you might think. Technically, yes, you can fly your drone during nighttime hours—but there are important restrictions.
First and foremost, you must be able to see your drone at all times. This means that if you have the lights on (which we strongly recommend doing), then no matter where it’s at or what direction it’s flying in, you must be able to see it from where you’re standing on the ground or in an airplane.
Also keep in mind that just because it’s night time doesn’t mean that all of Kansas is dark! In fact, many areas of Kansas have plenty of street lights along major highways and towns so there may be some parts of the state where visibility isn’t as much of an issue as others.
Finally, keep in mind that one special exception exists: if someone has obtained special permission from the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) or their local airport authority before taking off at night with their drone then they can do so without worrying about any sort of fine or punishment from either organization!
Do I Need To Register My Drone With The State Of Kansas?
No. The state of Kansas does not require you to register your drone. If you plan on flying your drone in another state, it is recommended that you register it with both the FAA and that state’s Department of Transportation. In order to do so, visit the FAA website and fill out the form provided there. That will be enough!
Drone Laws Kansas are actually not very restrictive, as long as you don’t intend to use your drone for commercial purposes in the state of Kansas. The Federal Aviation Administration has maintained strict regulations since the onset of these unmanned aerial vehicles, which is why it’s important to check with them before you take out your drone. There are few restrictions with regard to recreational usage and personal privacy, so there shouldn’t be any issues with drone laws in the state.