Drones are a hot topic in the news these days. It seems every day you hear about another story on domestic drones, commercial drones, military drones, or more confusing drone laws New Hampshire.

All of this buzz has made it necessary to do some research on how to fly your drone legally in the state of New Hampshire.

There are rules to follow when flying your drone and there are penalties involved if you don’t follow them. Let’s dive right in to discover how you can fly your drone legally in New Hampshire.

Jump Through The Article

Drone Laws New Hampshire

Drone Laws New Hampshire

Know What The Drone Laws Are For Your State Before You Take Off!

Before you fly, it’s important to know what the rules are. In New Hampshire, for example, it’s illegal to fly within 1000 feet of an emergency response area or any other aircraft. It’s also illegal to fly at night or over people not involved in your flight—but if you do need to get close enough for a shot, be sure not to endanger yourself or anyone else with your drone!

Laws Related To Drones And Uav Usage In The State Of New Hampshire

  • Statutes and Laws Relating to Drones and UAV Usage in the State of New Hampshire:
  • NH RSA 159-C, Section 2 (a-c) deals with drone operations that are harmful to wildlife. The law prohibits the use of drones for hunting or poaching animals, but does not limit hobbyist usage or commercial filming by a licensed pilot.
  • NH RSA 159-D deals with privacy issues related to drones and other aerial vehicles. Any person operating such a device must be over 18 years old and hold a valid license before they can fly it in New Hampshire airspace; however, no laws exist that restrict individuals from flying their own personal devices as long as they do not interfere with emergency response efforts or cause harm to others who may be on the ground below them.

Summary Of New Hampshire Drone Law

New Hampshire drone laws are fairly straightforward. If you’re flying a UAV for recreational purposes, you only need to register it with the FAA and follow the rules for where you’re flying.

For commercial drones, there are additional requirements: you’ll need to register with the state of New Hampshire and apply for a certificate from the FAA if your drone weighs more than .55 pounds (250 grams).

You’ll also be required to post your registration number on your aircraft and keep proof of that registration in your possession when operating. It’s important to note that this is not a blanket rule: some cities in New Hampshire require businesses to obtain licenses or permits before using an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV).

The Recreational Use Statute (rsa 477-a)

The Recreational Use Statute (rsa 477-a) allows for the use of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), or drones, for recreational purposes as long as they comply with certain rules and regulations.

The statute was enacted in 2015 and amended in 2017 to define what constitutes a drone and lay out specific guidelines on where they can be flown and under what circumstances.

The purpose of this article is to provide an overview of the Recreational Use Statute (RSA 477-A), including its definition and goals, exceptions to its provisions, penalties associated with violations of the statute, how it interacts with other laws related to unmanned aircraft activity, relevant resources available online for further study on these topics and more!

Flying With A Commercial Remote Pilot Certificate

Commercial drone pilots must have a commercial pilot certificate with a remote pilot certificate. The FAA requires that anyone who operates a drone for business purposes obtain the necessary certifications and permissions, as well as read and understand the rules of operation for drones.

If you are going to be using your drone for commercial purposes, you will need to become certified by passing an aeronautical knowledge test at an FAA-approved testing center. Once you have passed this exam (and paid any applicable fees), you can then apply for additional certificates through the Remote Pilot Certificate Management System (RP CMS).

The Police Power

The police power is the power of the state to enact laws and enforce them. The police power is a broad term that includes many different laws that regulate behavior, often by criminalizing certain acts or practices. Drones are subject to the same laws as any other device used for surveillance (e.g., cameras).


Trespass is a civil wrong. It is also a crime if the person has a criminal intent. A person commits trespass when he or she enters or remains on another’s property without permission from the owner of that property.

A person who intentionally damages, destroys, or defaces someone else’s property can be charged with criminal mischief in New Hampshire.

Invasion Of Privacy

An invasion of privacy occurs when one person intentionally intrudes on another’s personal solitude, seclusion or private affairs. There are four types of invasions:

  • Public Disclosure of Private Facts: When someone discloses private facts about a person that are not of legitimate public concern and that would be highly offensive to a reasonable person. Examples include publishing information about someone who is having an affair or revealing the details about their medical condition.
  • Appropriation: This occurs when someone uses another person’s name or likeness for personal gain without permission; such as using your picture on t-shirts without your permission.
  • Intrusion Upon Seclusion: This occurs when all elements are met: a legal right was invaded, and the intrusion was intentional (i.e., knowing), unconsented to and actually caused harm (i.e., emotional distress).
  • Examples include conducting surveillance on someone’s home by means of binoculars, hidden cameras or drones without their consent; placing microphones in their bedroom; or hacking into their computer to see what they are doing online at any time day or night.* Publicity Given To Private Life – this happens if the news media publishes private information which was obtained illegally from criminal behavior such as hacking into computers, eavesdropping on conversations through wiretapping equipment etcetera then they could be sued by anyone whose privacy has been violated in any way by these actions against his/her own right not only under common law but also under state statutes like New Hampshire’s laws protecting privacy rights too!

Registration Of Drone In New Hampshire

Registration Of Drone In New Hampshire

Register Your Drone Before Flying It In New Hampshire

Before you fly your drone in New Hampshire, it is important to register your drone with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

The federal agency requires that any drone weighing more than 0.55 pounds or 250 grams be registered.

Registering your UAS with the FAA is easy, but you must first create a user account on the website www.faa.gov/uas/registration/. Once logged in, you will be able to register your UAS by entering information about yourself and choosing one of three ways to register:

  1. Online using an existing credit card number;
  2. By mail using a paper form; or
  3. In person at an FAA-approved “UAS center” within 60 days of buying or receiving your first small unmanned aircraft system (SUAS).

Register Drone With The National Faa Registry

While it may seem like an unnecessary step in the process of flying your drone, according to the New Hampshire Department of Public Safety, Division of State Police NH-DOC, all owners of a drone need to register their drone with the national FAA registry. This is required by law.

Registration is free and easy to do if you already have an account on the FAA’s website or want to create one.

Once registered, you will be given a unique identifier code that must be displayed on each drone when flown outdoors as part of its registration.

To learn more about how to fly safely while avoiding any legal trouble with your new hobby and how not being able to afford registration should not prevent anyone from having fun outdoors with friends and family!

Go To This Website And Register Your Drone Online At Www.faa.gov/uas/registration/

To register your drone, you will first need to go to the FAA’s website.

Once there, click on the link that says “Register Your Drone.” This will take you to a page where you can create an account and fill out the required fields. You will need to create a username and password for this process.

Once this is complete, you will be taken back to the registration page with all of your information already entered in. All that remains is for you to enter your name, address and email address so that they can send confirmation emails when they receive them from other users who have made similar requests of our government agencies.

You Must Be 13 Years Or Older To Get A Federal Aviation Administration (faa) Registration 

You must be 13 years or older to get a Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) registration number for your drone. The FAA requires you to register if:

  • Your drone weighs between 0.55 pounds and 55 pounds;
  • Your drone is powered by electric propulsion; or
  • Your drone is powered by combustion of fossil fuels or a combination of both. In most cases, this would include quadcopters, fixed-wing drones, and helicopters as well as other types of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS).

Create A Username And Password

To complete the registration process, you will have to create a username and password. You can use an existing username and password that you already use for email, social media, or other online accounts. Or, you can create a new username and password just for this purpose.

You should remember your chosen username and password as it will be necessary for future FAA registration processes as well.

Write The Faa Registration Number On Your Drone

Once you’ve have completed the registration process, you’ll need to write the FAA registration number on your drone.

The sticker containing this number is located on a side of your drone. It can also be found in your manual and often printed on the box that contains your drone’s parts (such as batteries).

If you purchased one of those cheap toys from Amazon, don’t worry—the sticker will still be there somewhere!

Fly Your Drone At Least Five Feet Away From People And Property

If you want to fly your drone in New Hampshire, you must follow the rules outlined in the law.

  • Fly your drone at least five feet above the ground and stay at least 25 feet away from other people who are not associated with your flight.
  • Avoid flying over congested areas, as well as anywhere that could be dangerous for pedestrians or motorists on foot or in a car.
  • Stay out of restricted airspace, like military bases or airports unless you have permission from FAA officials first.

Are Drones Allowed In New Hampshire

Yes, Drones Are Allowed To Fly Over New Hampshire

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) does not regulate drone flight over state lines, within state borders or within the boundaries of a city or town.

The FAA also does not regulate drone flight within the boundaries of a state park.

Therefore, as long as you are flying your drone in New Hampshire and do not leave its borders, you can fly it wherever you want without needing to worry about any regulations from the FAA!

You Can Fly Your Drone In New Hampshire As Long As You Are Following Faa Guidelines

Drones are legal to fly in New Hampshire.

The FAA has set forth a list of rules that you must follow when flying your drone:

  • You Can Fly Your Drone In New Hampshire As Long As You Are Following Faa Guidelines. There is no special permissions or licenses required to do so; however, there are some restrictions on where exactly you can fly your drone and what time of day it can be flown.
  • For example, you cannot fly near people or stadiums (including sporting events), nor can you fly within five miles of an airport without receiving permission from the airport manager first. Additionally, remember not to get too close while filming because it could cause serious problems—even though drones have cameras mounted on them already (which would make this problem very easy to avoid), they still should avoid coming too close due to the possibility that they may interfere with manned aircraft operations nearby!

No Need Of Special Permission Or License To Fly Your Drone In The State Of New Hampshire

You do not need any special permission or license to fly your drone in the state of New Hampshire. The FAA has instituted rules that all drone owners must follow, but those rules do not require you to register your drone or get a license.

For most people, this will mean following the basic guidelines for recreational use: flying your drone within 500 feet of yourself and above 400 feet above ground level (AGL), staying clear of certain areas, keeping it within sight at all times, making sure it’s always under control so that it can be operated safely and avoid any accidents with people or objects on the ground if something goes wrong.

Those who want more information about how exactly these rules work may want to check out our resources page for more detailed explanations about what kinds of things are allowed and which ones aren’t as well as links where one can find more information from other sources around the internet that might be useful when trying out new ideas for flying drones without getting into trouble!

Rules To Follow For Flying Drone In New Hampshire

The following rules apply to people flying their drones in New Hampshire:

  • Fly below 400 feet.
  • Stay clear of surrounding obstacles at all times.
  • Keep your drone within visual line of sight at all times. If you can’t see it, don’t fly it!
  • Remain well clear of and do not interfere with manned aircraft operations, both civilian and military (this includes drones). This is a federal law for all airspace in the U.S., so always be mindful when flying near airports or military bases!
  • Do not fly within 5 miles of an airport unless you contact the airport and control tower before flying (see section 2-254(v) for full details).

Section: 1. Fly Below 400 Feet And Stay Clear Of Surrounding Obstacles

  • You must fly below 400 feet and stay clear of surrounding obstacles.
  • You must not fly within 5 miles of an airport without permission from the control tower.
  • You must not fly near people or stadiums, which includes school events, concerts, sporting events and festivals without permission from the organizers of those events or stadiums where games are being played (some exceptions apply).
  • You must not fly near other aircraft to avoid collisions (exceptions apply).
  • The FAA’s advisory circular on drones says flying recklessly or carelessly is prohibited under its rules regarding drones: “We prohibit careless and reckless operation because careless acts often lead to serious accidents that can result in injury or loss of property.”

Section: 2. Keep Your Drone Within Visual Line Of Sight 

  • Do not fly in bad weather.
  • Do not fly at night.
  • Do not fly near populated areas or large crowds, such as concerts, sporting events and festivals.
  • If you wish to operate a drone from a moving aircraft (such as a helicopter), contact ATC prior to departure and ensure they have permission to do so from the appropriate agency in charge of that airspace (usually FAA).

Section: 3. Remain Well Clear Of And Do Not Interfere With Manned Aircraft Operations

The FAA has rules that you must follow when flying drones. The first rule is to stay at least 5 miles away from airports. The second is to stay at least 3 miles away from heliports.

A third rule says that you must stay at least 1 mile away from manned aircraft and 2,000 feet away from people or buildings in populated areas (like stadiums).

Section: 4. Don’t Fly Within 5 Miles Of An Airport Unless

  • Contact the airport and control tower before flying within 5 miles of an airport.
  • You must inform the airport of your intentions and maintain a visual line of sight at all times.
  • Do not fly above 400 feet.
  • Do not fly near people or stadiums.

Section: 5. Don’t Fly Near People Or Stadiums

If you want to fly your drone in New Hampshire, you should follow these rules:

  • Don’t fly near people or stadiums.
  • Don’t fly near people, animals, or property.
  • Don’t fly near crowds of people.
  • Don’t fly near stadiums, sports events, or concerts.
  • Don’t fly near large groups of people (like a protest march).

Section: 6. Don’t Fly An Aircraft That Weighs More Than 55 Lbs

  • Don’t fly an aircraft that weighs more than 55 lbs.

You can get in trouble if you exceed the weight limit for flying your drone in New Hampshire. The maximum weight of a drone is 55 pounds and this is the maximum weight of a drone that can be flown in NH.

Section: 7. Don’t Be Careless Or Reckless With Your Unmanned Aircraft

The FAA requires that you fly your unmanned aircraft safely, which means not endangering people or other aircraft. Here are some things to keep in mind:

  • Don’t fly over people. The safest way to fly is below 400 feet above ground level (AGL) and at least five miles away from airports unless you contact the airport and control tower before flying.
  • Don’t fly over stadiums or sports arenas where there could be thousands of people watching a game.
  • Don’t fly within five miles of an airport without contacting that airport and receiving permission from air traffic control (ATC) first. ATC has the authority to order you not only out of their airspace but also out of all federal airspace if they think your operation poses a threat to safety or security (more on this later).

You Can Freely Operate A Drone In Nh 

You can freely operate your drone in NH without needing any special permissions or licenses. The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is the governing body of all airspace, including that above state-owned areas such as parks and schools. They have strict guidelines for flying drones at low altitudes:

  • You must keep the drone within visual line of sight (VLOS). This means you should never fly your drone more than 400 feet away from where you’re standing—which is usually enough to capture everything you need from your vantage point.
  • You must follow a 500-foot altitude limit when flying over populated areas. If you’re not sure how high this is, just ask yourself if the plane passing by overhead could see down into your living room window?
  • If it could, then respect those rules for flying over populated areas! It’s safer for everyone involved when everyone follows these common sense rules about where and when to fly drones near people.


New Hampshire has established that drones cannot be used for fishing violations and other criminal investigations, limited the public’s use for subsequent investigations to a warrant, set out privacy and search and seizure protections, and prohibited reckless operation within 400 feet of an emergency situation or critical facility.

The FAA has failed to provide clear, concise guidelines for small drone operators, leaving the public at risk and the drone industry crippled. Perhaps this law will change that.

Frequently Asked Questions (drone Laws New Hampshire)

What Is The Legal Status Of Drones In New Hampshire?

As a resident of New Hampshire, you can fly your drone as you please. The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) regulates drones used for commercial purposes and requires that all owners register their drones with the FAA’s Unmanned Aircraft Systems Registration web portal.

However, you don’t need to register your drone if it weighs less than 55 pounds and is flown exclusively for recreational purposes. You also don’t need to worry about licenses or training requirements if your drone weighs less than 25 pounds and is not operated beyond visual line-of-sight (BVLOS).

Do I Need To Register My Drone With The State Or Federal Government In New Hampshire?

No, you do not need to register your drone with the state or federal government in New Hampshire. You also don’t need to register your drone with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), which oversees all aircraft in the airspace of the United States.

However, if you plan on flying outside of the United States with your drone, then yes! You must register it with the FAA before doing so.

What Are Some Laws In New Hampshire To Be Aware Of When It Comes To Recreational Drone Use?

  • Follow the rules of the FAA.
  • Do not fly near airports, especially if you’re flying at night.
  • If you are flying your drone as a hobby or for commercial purposes, there are some other rules to follow:
  • Don’t fly over emergency response teams and wildfires (this is a big one).
  • Don’t fly over groups of people just hanging out in public spaces.
  • Don’t fly over large crowds like sporting events or concerts unless you have permission from organizers and venue security.

Where Can I Fly My Drone In New Hampshire?

You can fly a drone over public property in NH. You also can fly it over private property if you have permission from the owner. If you’re flying a drone for work, or to help emergency responders with their work, you are allowed to film on people’s private property without permission.

Can I Fly A Drone Over Private Property In New Hampshire?

  • If you have permission from the property owner, you can fly your drone over any private property in New Hampshire.
  • You can also fly your drone over public property without getting permission from anyone first. Many parks, playgrounds and other recreational areas are considered public property by law. As long as you don’t interfere with anyone else’s enjoyment of that property, or break any laws while flying overhead (such as flying too high), then it’s legal to fly a drone anywhere on public land.
  • However if the building is part of a house (like an attic) or is attached to its roof—you probably shouldn’t be flying your drone there unless someone has given you their permission first!

Similar Posts