Drone laws vary by state. There are some general rules in Massachusetts that apply to all states and situations, but these apply only when a drone is being flown legally

In general, you’re not allowed to fly your drone higher than 400 feet above ground level (AGL), or within 1 mile of an airport. You can also only operate your drone during daylight hours and within line-of-sight. Additionally, you must give way to manned aircraft at all times.

If you’re operating your drone in any other way, such as flying over someone else’s property without permission or in an unsafe manner (for example, flying it directly above others), then you may be breaking the law.

The rules for each state are set forth by their state government and enforced by local law enforcement officers. You can find out what the rules are for your specific location by contacting a local police department or state agency office and asking about their policies related to drones.

Drone Laws Massachusetts


Register The Drone

Registration of your drone is required if it weighs more than 0.55 pounds. You can register with the Federal Aviation Administration at www.faa.gov/ and must be renewed annually as long as you continue to operate your drone. Failure to comply with this law could result in civil or criminal penalties, or both.

Registration is free, but if your registration has been expired for more than 60 days, you will be charged a $5 fee when you renew it

Do Not Fly Over People.

To fly over people, you must keep your drone at least 20 feet from them. You are also barred from flying over stadiums or sports events.

If you want to fly your drone commercially, the FAA requires that all pilots have a drone-approved pilot’s license and that all aircraft be registered with the FAA before it can be flown for commercial purposes.

Do Not Fly From A Moving Vehicle

The drone laws state that you cannot fly from a moving vehicle, except in certain circumstances.

Drone laws state that you can fly from a moving vehicle if it is within a safe, closed or restricted-access site.

Do Not Fly Over Stadiums Or Sports Events.

  • Don’t fly over sports stadiums, arenas or events.
  • Always get permission before flying over private property.
  • If you’re using your drone to film something in public space, don’t fly above 400 feet (130 meters).

Keep The Aircraft In Sight

You should always keep the drone in sight, or use a spotter (another person who can see the aircraft) to help.

If your UAS has an anti-collision system, you may be able to use it to help ensure that you don’t lose sight of your UAS. If your UAS has a Return-to-Home capability, this feature might be helpful if you lose sight of your UAS for any reason.

If you have a visual positioning system attached to your aircraft and/or ground station, these systems may allow you to maintain line-of-sight with your aircraft while keeping it within one mile vertically and three miles horizontally from its launch point at all times without having direct line of sight with it.

Remain Well Clear Of

  • Do not fly within five miles of an airport without prior permission from the airport operator.
  • Do not fly in controlled airspace (such as near airports) unless you contact air traffic control and have been cleared for safe operation.

Massachusetts Is One Of Many States With Drone Laws.

Massachusetts is one of many states with drone laws. There are several ways you can get in trouble for flying your drone in Massachusetts:

  • Flying a drone over a prison or correctional facility without permission is illegal.
  • Flying your drone above 400 feet is prohibited unless you’re within 400 feet of an airport or heliport, or if the FAA has issued written permission for the flight.
  • It’s illegal to use drones to hunt wildlife, disturb bats and migratory birds, interfere with firefighters fighting wildfires, or harass animals on private property. Make sure you know what these terms mean before getting started!

How To Register Drones In Massachusetts

How To Register Drones In Massachusetts

Who Is Required To Register A Drone?

  • You are required to register a drone if it weighs more than 0.55 pounds, but less than 55.0 pounds.
  • You are not required to register a drone if it weighs less than 0.55 pounds and is being used for hobbyist purposes only (e.g., flying RC airplanes, helicopters or multi-rotor devices).
  • If you are operating a drone in Massachusetts as part of your business (e.g., delivering packages using drones), then you must register your drones with the FAA under Part 107 or with Mass port or Mass DOT if operating within their airports’ boundaries — even if they weigh less than 55 pounds!

What’s The Process Of Registering A Drone?

The registration process is very straightforward. The first thing you’ll need to do is make sure you meet the eligibility requirements.

To register your drone, you must be at least 13 years old and either a U.S. citizen or legal permanent resident with a valid credit card and email address in your name.

Follow the steps through the process until it asks for information about your drone (make/model, serial number), then click “submit application” at the bottom right corner of the page (see below).

What If I Don’t Register My Drone?

If you fail to register your drone, it may result in a fine of up to $500. The FAA has the authority to enforce these regulations and may take legal action against those who fail to comply with them.

The FAA also has the ability to ban an individual from flying drones for up to two years if that person registers an unregistered drone or fails to register multiple times within a certain time period.

In addition, any time that you sell or give away your drone, they will need to be re-registered with their new owner by filling out a new application form and paying another $5 fee.

You must also notify the FAA within ten days of selling your aircraft so they can mark it as “sold” on their records.

What Happens To The Registration Number On My Drone When I Sell It?

If you sell your drone, remove your registration number from the drone. You must also remove the number from any labels attached to it.

If you buy a used drone and it is still registered, make sure that it is properly removed before using it.

  • Go to its website
  • and click on “Unregister” in the upper right-hand corner of your screen.
  • Enter information about yourself and why you are unregistering (for example: “I bought this used drone but I have not yet sold my old one.”). This will keep track of this information for later if needed by law enforcement or other agencies who may need to get back in touch with you about an investigation into an incident involving drones at another location or date).

What Do I Do If My Registration Number Falls Off Of My Drone?

If your registration certificate or number falls off of your drone and becomes unreadable, or if you have lost your drone registration certificate, then it is important that you request a replacement.

To replace a lost or damaged drone registration number: You must complete and submit an online application for replacement

Include payment with the completed application form by credit card, debit card, check or money order electronically payable to Mass Aviation in the amount of $5 for each replacement number requested. Please allow up to 4 weeks for processing this request before contacting MassAviation directly at [email protected]

To replace a lost or damaged drone registration certificate: You must complete and submit an online application for replacement. Include payment with the completed application form by credit card, debit card, check or money order electronically payable to MassAviation in the amount of $10 per copy ordered plus shipping costs; please allow up to 4 weeks for processing this request before contacting MassAviation directly at [email protected]

The Faa Requires That All Drones In Massachusetts Be Registered.

The Federal Aviation Administration requires that all drones of a certain weight be registered. The FAA requires that you register your drone if it weighs between 0.55 and 55 pounds.

This includes small quadcopters like the DJI Mavic Pro, as well as large drones like the 3DR Solo or Inspire 2 with camera gimbals attached to them.

Are Drones Allowed In Massachusetts

Drones Are Allowed In Massachusetts.

  • Drones are allowed in Massachusetts.
  • There are some restrictions on where and how you can fly drones, though. For example, they’re not allowed in national parks or wilderness areas unless the drone is being used for scientific research (which requires a permit).

You Can’t Fly A Drone In Massachusetts National Parks.

You can’t fly a drone in Massachusetts National Parks.

In the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, there are some places where you can fly drones and other places where you can’t. It’s important to know the difference between these two types of areas in order to avoid getting fined or arrested for flying your drone there.

In this article, we’ll cover everything from drone regulations in national parks to what areas are off-limits for small unmanned aircraft systems (UAS).

Massachusetts has one national park: The Cape Cod National Seashore (CCNS). While CCNS is technically part of Massachusetts, it’s not located in Boston like much of the rest of New England’s most popular destinations—it’s actually on Cape Cod itself!

This makes it an ideal destination if you’re looking for something outside downtown Boston but still want easy access by car or train.

Since most people don’t think about visiting coastal areas during winter months when they plan their vacations during warmer seasons like summertime or springtime (or even fall), now may be your chance to go see some great scenery without having too many other people around?

You Can Get A Permit To Fly Your Drone.

You can get a permit to fly your drone in a Massachusetts State Park.

To obtain a permit, you must be at least 18 years old and have a model aircraft or UAS. The FAA registration form must also be submitted with it.

The Faa Has A List Of Rules For Flying Drones.

The FAA has a list of rules for flying drones. Before you get started with your new drone, it’s important to understand the rules that apply to flying drones in Massachusetts. The FAA has several important rules for drone pilots, including:

  • You need a license to operate an unmanned aircraft system (UAS) for commercial purposes unless you are operating under Part 107.
  • If you are operating an unmanned aircraft weighing 454 pounds or less as an amateur radio operator, you must register your UAS with FEMA prior to operating it in the National Airspace System (NAS).
  • If your drone weighs more than 454 pounds, then you must register your UAS with FEMA prior to operating it in the NAS if you have not been granted an exemption from this requirement by the FAA Administrator; however, registration does not authorize flight in Class A airspace or within 5 miles of an airport unless otherwise authorized by air traffic control tower personnel or when permitted under § 91.126(a)(1) of the Federal Aviation Regulations (FARs).

Drones Are Allowed In Massachusetts, But There Are Restrictions

You can fly drones in your own backyard and at a park, but you cannot use them to spy on people.

You must be at least 13 years old to fly a drone in Massachusetts. If you are flying your drone in an open space where there is no nearby residential property or roads, you may do so without permission from the property owner.

If you are flying near someone’s home or over their property, however, you should get permission from the homeowner first before taking off with your drone.

Frequently Asked Question (drone Laws Massachusetts)

What Is A Remote Pilot Certificate?

The Remote Pilot Certificate is a document issued by the FAA that allows you to fly drones for commercial purposes. It’s also known as a Part 107 certificate, and it’s valid for 2 years.

If you plan on flying a drone commercially, we highly recommend getting your remote pilot certificate from the FAA prior to purchasing and flying any drones!

Do I Need An Faa License To Fly Commercially In The State Of Massachusetts?

Yes, you will need an FAA license to fly commercially in Massachusetts. You will need a part 107 certificate and be at least 16 years old. You’ll also have to pass a background check and take a test, which you can study for on the FAA website.

Are There Any Public Drone Parks In Massachusetts For Me To Fly My Drone At?

You may not be able to fly your drone in a public park, but there are several private locations throughout Massachusetts where you can practice your drone flying skills. For example, the closest drone park to Boston is located in North Hampton, New Hampshire. The facility offers daily paid sessions for both individuals and groups that allow users access to an outdoor flying space that includes a dedicated landing pad area.


Flying your drone within 25 feet of a person or other aircraft is illegal. You must not fly your drone in a way that interferes with firefighting, police activity, or public safety operations. If you’re flying over 400 feet, notify the FAA if you’re within 5 miles of an airport.

These are only the rules that apply to drones in Massachusetts. There are federal regulations, too, and they can be found at https://www.faa.gov/. If you have any questions about drone laws or are unsure about something, check with your local police department or the FAA before flying your drone.

Similar Posts