Are you interested in flying a drone in the States? Then you absolutely have to check out our guide on drone laws Mississippi . You might already know that the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is the governing body for regulating all U.S. airspace but did you know it does not regulate non-commercial use of UAVs (Unmanned Aerial Vehicles)? This means that every state can create its own set of regulations regarding flying recreational drones.
Drone Laws Mississippi
Mississippi State Drone Laws Are Among The Most Permissive In The Us
Mississippi state drone laws are among the most permissive in the United States. The state has no restrictions on flying drones for recreational purposes and no additional licensing requirements for commercial operators beyond those imposed by the FAA.
Under Mississippi law, you can fly a drone without a license or permit within five miles of an airport or heliport if you stay within 400 feet of it and keep your drone in visual line of sight at all times (basically, you have to be able to see it with your own eyes). If you plan to fly outside these parameters, get familiar with FAA rules because they apply everywhere else too: always stay below 400 feet above ground level; don’t fly near people or vehicles; avoid prohibited areas; and make sure that everyone on board knows how to use their equipment properly before taking off—no matter what kind of gadgetry is mounted under its nose!
Drone Laws Mississippi
Mississippi State Drone Laws Are Among The Most Permissive In The Us. Minimal laws and regulations pertaining to aerial vehicles and their use mean that recreational users of drones operating in Mississippi face few restrictions, though commercial users must have a permit to operate in certain areas.
Mississippi Is A Very Drone-friendly State
Mississippi Is A Very Drone-friendly State, with minimal laws and regulations pertaining to aerial vehicles and their use. This stands in contrast to several other states which have attempted to restrict police use of drones as much as possible, or require special permissions for recreational users.
- No state laws restricting recreational drone use
- No additional licensing requirements for commercial operators beyond those imposed by the FAA (Federal Aviation Administration)
- No state laws restricting police drone use
Drone Laws Mississippi – Recreational
You must always fly under 400 feet. You must not fly closer than 5 miles from an airport. You must stay within visual line of sight at all times, unless you are flying within a controlled airspace and have the permission of air traffic control.
You must never fly over groups of people, or near public gatherings or sporting events. You may also not fly in national parks or wildlife refuges, military bases or Washington D.C., and other sensitive areas as designated by the FAA.*
Recreational Users Of Drones Operating In Mississippi Face Few Restrictions
Recreational Users Of Drones Operating In Mississippi Face Few Restrictions; there are no specific state laws regarding their use and only the Federal Aviation Administration’s (FAA) rules apply. These stipulate that you must always:
- Keep your UAS below 400 feet.
- Remain at least 5 miles from any airport.
- Observe visual line-of-sight (VLOS), meaning you can’t fly with an object blocking your view of the drone. Additionally, you can’t fly within a certain distance of other aircraft or within restricted areas (such as military bases).
Fly Under 400 Feet
- Fly Under 400 Feet. The maximum height allowed for drone flights is 400 feet above ground level (AGL), but you should always try to fly below that altitude.
- Know what’s over the horizon. Before you take off, make sure there are no obstacles in your flight path that could be a problem if they suddenly appeared out of nowhere during a flight.
Related: Drone Laws in North Carolina
Keep Your Drone At Least 5 Miles Away From An Airport
In Mississippi, the only state law regarding drones is that you have to register them with the FAA. However, there are no specific state laws regarding their use and only the Federal Aviation Administration’s (FAA) rules apply.
To help you understand these laws better, we’ve put together this guide to drone laws in Mississippi.
Fly Within Visual Line Of Sight (so Avoid Using Fpv Goggles)
- Fly Within Visual Line Of Sight (so Avoid Using Fpv Goggles)
- Don’t fly higher than 400 feet above ground level (about 45 stories high)
- Don’t fly near airports or other aircraft
- Don’t fly near people, animals, buildings, or vehicles
Never Fly Over Groups Of People
- Never Fly Over Groups Of People – The FAA has established a minimum distance of 500 feet above any person or structure. This is meant to protect people on the ground as well as you, but it also ensures that your drone will not interfere with manned aircrafts in the area.
- Know how far away you can be from airports and heliports – You must stay 5 nautical miles (9.3 km) away from any airport which has an air traffic control tower or an active runway light system. However, if your drone weighs less than 55 lbs (25 kg) and cannot fly higher than 400 feet above ground level, then this restriction does not apply to you!
- Always check for Temporary Flight Restrictions (TFRs) – These are put in place when there are special activities happening at certain locations within U.S airspace such as sporting events or large scale celebrations where large crowds may gather together in one place at once time so they need extra protection against possible accidents involving drones flying overhead.”
Not Fly Near Other Aircraft
Mississippi requires all drone operators to register with the FAA and pass the Aeronautical Knowledge Test. To fly a drone commercially in Mississippi, you must apply to the FAA for a Remote Pilot Certificate (RPC).
To obtain an RPC, you must be at least 16 years old and pass a TSA background check. If you are younger than 18 years old, your parent or legal guardian must complete the form on your behalf. Additionally, if you want to fly your drone commercially outside of a structure within 5 miles of an airport or heliport, then you must get permission from both the airport operator and air traffic control tower before doing so.
Drone Laws Mississippi – Commercial
In addition to the general rules for drone use in Mississippi, there are several additional rules for commercial drone operators.
- If you fly a drone commercially, you must have an FAA-approved Remote Pilot Certificate. The FAA created this certificate program to make it easy for people who want to fly drones commercially and professionally as part of their job or business to get their certificates quickly and easily—and at a reasonable cost.
- There are two ways to qualify for an FAA-approved Remote Pilot Certificate: by taking an in-person knowledge test at one of the 700+ FAA-approved testing centers across the United States; or by completing one of the course providers accredited by AOPA (the Academy of Model Aeronautics) or FPV USA (FAA UAS Center of Excellence).
Drone Registration In Mississippi
Mississippi Allows Drones And You Can Register A Drone Very Easily In The State
Mississippi allows drones to fly in the state for recreational, commercial and educational purposes. Drones can also be registered for hobbyist and government use.
In Mississippi, you may use a drone as long as you have permission to do so from the property owner or operator of an aircraft that is not controlled by you. If this is the case, then your drone flight will not be considered trespassing or reckless flying if it causes any damage or injury to another person (or animal).
Determine If You Need To Register And Which Type Of Registration Is Needed
- Determine If You Need To Register And Which Type Of Registration Is Needed, depending on whether you are a commercial or recreational user.
- What is the cost? The fee for the first year of registration for a commercial user is $100, with annual renewal fees of $50 ($100 for all subsequent years). The fee for recreational users is $5 per drone up to a maximum of $25 per calendar year.
- Who needs to register? All owners and operators of drones weighing between 0.55 pounds (250 grams) and 55 pounds (about 25 kilograms) must be registered by January 1st 2020. This includes both hobbyists who fly their drones recreationally, as well as anyone who wishes to use their drone in connection with any business purpose or activity—including photography, surveying land or crops, mapping property lines & buildings etc..
- If you don’t register your UAS before the deadline: Unmanned Aircraft Systems that have not been registered by January 1 2020 will be considered illegal under federal law and subject any operator found operating such an aircraft could face fines up to $27 500 per violation
Register Your Drone With The Federal Aviation Administration (faa)
- Register Your Drone With The Federal Aviation Administration (faa).
- You can register your drone at any time and from anywhere you have internet access. To register, visit the FAA’s drone registration page, click “Register Your Drone” and follow the instructions.
- Registration is free! There are no fees associated with registering your drone with the FAA. Registration is mandatory if you own a small unmanned aircraft system (UAS) that weighs more than 0.55 pounds and less than 55 pounds, excluding payloads or fuel. If your UAS weighs more than 55 pounds or has an electric power source totaling more than 26 ounces of fuel per hour, it will also require registration before flight within U.S. airspace unless it already has been previously registered by another owner or operator in accordance with this section prior to October 20, 2017 (see below).
- Registration information must be submitted by February 19th 2019; but only if you want to fly outside of certain designated areas such as model aircraft fields controlled by AMA clubs/organizations for example where vehicles are not allowed on their property without permission from AMA club officials who’ll likely ask how many days/hours per week do I plan on using my vehicle there so everyone knows how much wear & tear might occur on these surfaces during peak usage times like holidays when kids get off school early etc…
Read The Rules And Safety Regulations
When you are ready to fly your drone, read the rules and safety regulations.
If you want to use your drone commercially, it is important that you know all of the requirements for doing so. You can find information on how to apply for an exemption from registration at www.faa.gov/uas/registration_exemptions/.
If you want to operate a model aircraft in U.S. national airspace as a hobbyist, keep it within visual line of sight (VLOS), which means being able to see it with your own eyes at all times without binoculars or other devices that magnify visuals. Your model must weigh less than 55 pounds (25 kilograms). If your aircraft is larger than this weight limit or if it flies higher than 400 feet above ground level (AGL), then you must register with the FAA using the online process called “Register My UA.”
- Get drone insurance.
- Look for insurance companies that offer coverage for drones, including those that permit you to register your drone with them directly.
- Drone insurance costs can vary significantly depending on the company and the type of coverage desired. For example, some policies cover only damage or loss of your drone while others offer protection in case you are sued after an accident involving a third party or even against injuries to yourself if flying your UAV resulted in an injury (like a broken bone).
- Make sure you understand how much coverage is available under each policy and what kind of deductible applies before purchasing any plan. You may also want to ask whether a specific carrier will cover your particular model of UAV; contact information for each carrier is included below.
You’re Ready To Fly
You’re ready to fly! Congratulations on becoming a drone pilot. Now that you’ve registered, we want to make sure you know how to fly responsibly and within FAA regulations. The first step is knowing the rules of recreational flight:
- You must always fly below 400 feet above ground level (AGL). If you wish to operate at higher altitudes, please contact us for permission.
- You must avoid flying directly over people who are not involved in your operation.
- Do not fly within 5 miles of an airport without contacting that airport’s management first.
- Do not fly any closer than 1 mile away from an airport’s control tower unless you’ve received permission from air traffic control personnel.
Are Drones Allowed In Mississippi
Are Drones Allowed In Mississippi?
You are allowed to fly drones in Mississippi. You will need to register your drone, however. Make sure that you know all of the places that drones are not allowed and avoid them. If you plan on flying your drone in a national park, for example, make sure that it is more than 100 feet from the ground.
What Is The Law For Flying Drones In Mississippi?
If you’re new to drone flying, or just want to brush up your skills, here are some basic rules for flying drones in Mississippi.
- Drone pilots must stay at least 30 feet away from vehicles, vessels and people.
- You must maintain visual line of sight with your drone at all times. No FPV (First Person View) flying allowed!
- Do not fly over 400 feet above ground level (AGL). AGL is defined as the highest point of any structure or tree in the area being flown through.
- Drones may not be used for hunting or fishing activities, including surveillance of game animals during hunting seasons.
- Drones may not be used within 5 miles of an airport unless prior authorization has been obtained from the airport operator and air traffic control tower personnel have been notified that a drone will be operating within their airspace during times when aircraft operations are normally conducted thereon
Where Can I Fly My Drone In Mississippi?
You are allowed to fly drones in any public place in Mississippi, except for certain areas. These include:
- Within five miles of an airport
- Over a crowd of people who aren’t involved in the operation of the drone
- Over prisons and correctional facilities (including jails)
- Over nuclear facilities and power plants
- During sporting events
Which Places In Mississippi Are Off-limits To Drones?
- National parks
- Military bases
- Power plants
- Stadiums and other sporting venues (events in progress)
- Prisons, jails, correctional facilities and juvenile detention facilities
- Wildlife sanctuaries and refuges (they may be off-limits to drones even if they’re not marked as such)
You Need To Know The Places You Are Not Allowed To Fly Your Drone
Flying your drone in Mississippi can be a lot of fun. Before you start flying, make sure to know the places you are not allowed to fly your drone.
- Don’t fly your drones near airports. This includes all airports, so this includes small local airstrips and larger international airports.
- Don’t fly over people who are exercising their First Amendment rights or otherwise engaging in activities protected by the Constitution of the United States. Examples would include attending a protest or rally, or participating in other First Amendment-protected activities such as picketing or petitioning government officials for redress of grievances (the right to petition).
- You may not fly drones within 500 feet of any national park unit without first obtaining permission from that park’s superintendent (or designee)
If you are in Mississippi and flying a drone or UAV (unmanned aerial vehicle) and you want to fly it within the state lines, then you have to ensure that the drone is registered for operations.
The regulations for flying drones in Mississippi are very strict because the United States government has established regulations for such devices that require pilots to register with the FAA if they wish to fly drones within the national boundaries.
Frequently Asked Questions (drone Laws Mississippi)
What Are The Laws Regarding Recreational Drones In Mississippi?
In Mississippi, recreational drones are required to be flown under 55 pounds and stay away from airports, military bases and other restricted areas. They must also be operated by a person who is at least 16 years old. The drone may not be flown over people or stadiums or sporting events.
What Are The Rules For Flying A Drone In Mississippi?
You must be at least 16 years old to fly a drone in Mississippi, and you should have a valid driver’s license. If you don’t have one, your drone pilot’s license can act as a substitute for the rest of your life. You also need to be able to read, write and understand English (at least on an elementary school level).
If you meet these requirements, then the FAA won’t stop from flying your drone. However, if they ever see anyone breaking any of these rules or any others listed below (even if they break them by accident), they may take away their flying privileges until further notice.
Can I Fly My Drone Commercially In Mississippi?
Yes, but you will need to get a commercial drone license. You should also register your drone and get a certificate of registration, among other things. Taking the time to learn about the rules for flying a drone in Mississippi will help keep you from breaking them.