If you’re planning to fly a drone in New Mexico, there are some rules and regulations that you need to know about first. If you’re violating any of these rules, the FAA can penalize you with fines or even jail time. Here’s everything you need to know about drone laws in New Mexico.

Operators must maintain visual line of sight with the unmanned aircraft at all times. The operator may not use a visual observer to satisfy this requirement unless the observer is a licensed pilot, and the aircraft being observed is operated within 400 feet of the observer.

Drone Rules In New Mexico

Drone Rules In New Mexico

Maximum Altitude: 400 Feet

The maximum altitude of 400 feet is the same for all states and the US.

It’s important to remember that this is only a suggestion, not a law. In other words, you’re free to fly your drone anywhere within New Mexico as long as it doesn’t interfere with aircraft or violate any other laws.

No Drone Flights Within 5 Miles Of An Airport

You must not fly a drone within 5 miles of an airport.

If there is no specific rule that you can find in this document, it is your responsibility to be aware of the location of airports and steer clear from them when flying your drone.

If you are unsure about where an airport is located, please contact the local authorities or check online resources such as https://www.faa.gov/uas/ for more information on how to locate airports in New Mexico.

Drone Pilots Must Keep The Drone In Line Of Site At All Times

  • Drone pilots must keep the drone in line of site at all times.
  • Drone pilots must not fly their drones over groups of people or private property without permission.
  • Drone pilots may not fly over any areas that are prohibited by law, such as a hospital, school, or airport.

Drone Pilots Must Not Fly Over Groups Of People

You must not fly over groups of people or over private property without permission.

If you do not follow this rule, you can be fined $1,000 and your drone will be confiscated.

Drone Pilots Must Be Responsible And Show Respect To Personal Privacy

The drone pilot is responsible for flying the drone in a safe and respectful manner. This means that you should:

  • Fly your drones safely, at or below 400 feet above the ground, away from other aircraft and people on the ground.
  • Do not fly your drone over private property without permission. If you want to fly over private property (such as farmland), make sure to ask first before doing so.
  • Do not fly within five miles of an airport. Airports like Albuquerque International Sunport have significant air traffic and could pose a serious risk if they were buzzed by an errant drone pilot who isn’t paying attention while flying their craft near airports or other controlled airspace areas.

The Faa Requires Registration For Drones Weighing More Than 0.55 Lbs

If your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250 grams) and less than 55 pounds (approx 25 kilograms), the FAA requires you to register it.

You can register your drone online at www.faa.gov/uas/registration/

You can also register your drone by visiting a local hobby shop or retailer that sells drones.

How To Register Drone In New Mexico

How To Register Drone In New Mexico

Flying a drone can be an exciting pastime, but there are rules and regulations to follow. The most important thing you need to know is that all drones must be registered with the FAA.

If you purchase a new drone from Amazon or Best Buy, it will come with instructions on how to register it—but if not, don’t worry: we’ve got you covered.

Registering Your Drone Is Quick And Easy

Registering Your Drone Is Quick And Easy. If you are a minor, you will need to provide proof of a parent or guardian’s consent for registration, which can be done by signing the paper form that comes with your drone. If you are not a US citizen, you will need to provide proof of citizenship (a birth certificate or passport).

If you have multiple drones, they can all be registered at once by providing all necessary information for each drone on one paper form.

Registration Costs $5

Once you’ve entered all of your information, the online payment screen will show you the total amount due. There are a number of ways to pay for your registration, but we recommend using PayPal or a credit card. For example, if you’re paying with cash at a store:

  • Paying with cash isn’t ideal because it can be inconvenient and costly (especially if you don’t have exact change). If you’re planning on paying with cash in person, check out this helpful guide from the DMV that explains how much change you should bring along and how much more money will be taken out as taxes.
  • You may also opt to complete this step at an unmanned kiosk located throughout New Mexico—this is preferable to paying by mail because there’s no risk of losing stamps while mailing your form!

What Kind Of Drones Need To Be Registered?

You must register your drone in New Mexico if it weighs between 0.55 and 55 pounds. If you’re not sure what this means, just take a look at the weigh-in below:

  • If your drone weighs less than 0.55 pounds, it’s considered a model aircraft and doesn’t need to be registered with the FAA. But don’t let that fool you—model aircraft can still pose serious safety risks because they could collide with other aircraft or vehicles on the ground, so please use caution when flying one near others people or property!
  • If your drone weighs more than 55 pounds but less than 55 1/2 pounds (i.e., 454 grams), then congratulations—your drone is not required to be registered by law!

Who Needs To Register A Drone?

  • If you’re a hobbyist and your drone weighs under 55 pounds and is operated near non-participants, you do not need to register it.
  • If you are a commercial operator (e.g., professional photographer) who will be flying drones at heights above 400 ft and within visual line of sight of the operator, then yes—you need to register your drone before flying it.

Things To Know Before You Buy A New Drone.

  • Know the laws.
  • Know the drone.
  • Know the user.
  • Know the regulations.
  • Know the weather and terrain you’ll be flying in, and how that might affect battery life or range (for example, a drone may have a shorter range than other drones if it weighs less).
  • You should also consider whether you’re allowed to fly your drone at night; many rules don’t allow this, so check before buying!
  • Also consider how much camera footage you want from each flight—some drones allow for longer battery life but lower resolution cameras than others. If photography is important to you, make sure your chosen model has a good camera before buying one!
  • Finally, always check what kind of warranty comes with your purchase—the most expensive models aren’t always better, but they do tend to have more comprehensive warranties than cheaper models do!

Not All Drones Are Created Equal

You may have heard the terms “drone,” “model aircraft,” and “quadcopter” used interchangeably. However, they’re not quite the same thing.

  • Drone: A remotely controlled flying machine that is not designed to carry humans.
  • Model Aircraft: A toy or hobby craft capable of flight, but which has been specifically designed for recreational use and does not meet the criteria for any other category of UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle).
  • Quadcopter: A type of unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) with four rotors attached to a central body arranged in a quad formation. Some people call these drones as well, but technically this term refers only to those buzzing around your neighbor’s backyard after dark while he’s grilling hot dogs at an outdoor party.
  • The FAA considers them model aircrafts if they weigh less than 55 pounds and are operated within visual line-of-sight of their operator, who must be at least 16 years old where applicable laws permit operation by minors under supervision by an adult holding valid registration or airworthiness certificate—and it better be registered because without it you could get fined up to $250!

Are Drones Allowed In New Mexico

The best way to know whether or not you can fly your drone in New Mexico is to contact the Federal Aviation Administration and ask them.

Are Drones Allowed To Fly Over Me?

If you’re wondering if it’s okay to fly your drone over your neighbor’s house, the answer is probably “no.” In general, drone pilots should always ask for permission before flying over private property.

This is especially true for those who live in New Mexico—drone pilots should also ask for permission before flying over public lands and federal lands as well. If you want to be sure about what kind of legal issues could arise from flying a drone, it might be worth calling up an attorney.

Are Drones Allowed On Public Lands?

Drones are allowed in New Mexico on public lands. Please note that this does not include national parks, which means that you cannot fly a drone in any of the following parks:

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, Chaco Culture National Historical Park, El Malpais National Conservation Area/National Monument/El Morro National Historic Site (all part of Petroglyph National Monument), Gila Cliff Dwellings National Monument, Glen Canyon NRA/Lake Powell NRA, Hot Springs State Park & Cabins (part of Petroglyph National Monument), Pecos River Canyon Wilderness

Are Drones Allowed On Private Property, Without Owner Consent?

Yes, as long as you have permission from the property owner. However, it’s important to note that there are some restrictions to this rule:

  • The property cannot be fenced off or gated in any way.
  • The drone must not interfere with other people’s rights (for example, if someone is trying to enjoy their own private property).
  • In most cases, you’ll need written consent from the property owner before flying your drone on their land.

Can I Fly My Drone In The Wilderness?

In general, you can fly your drone in the wilderness as long as it is not in a national park, forest or wildlife refuge. In addition, you cannot fly at night or over cities. Note that some parks may have their own rules on drones and sometimes they will be posted on their website or listed in the park brochure.

No Drones Are Not Allowed In New Mexico

The answer is no, drones are not allowed in New Mexico. Here’s why:

  • Flying over private property is illegal. In New Mexico, you can get fined up to $5,000 for flying a drone over someone else’s private property without their permission.
  • Flying over public land is also illegal. If you fly your drone anywhere within the boundaries of a national park or other federal land, it may be confiscated by park rangers and then turned over to local law enforcement officers who will issue you fines totaling up to $10,000 per violation!
  • Flying in wilderness areas is also illegal because these areas are designated as being “untrammeled” by man-made structures or activity; thus flying drones in such places could potentially damage them by disrupting the natural balance of nature itself which would upset hikers who enjoy visiting these places just for their peacefulness without having to worry about any kind of technology disrupting their experience!


You can fly your drone in New Mexico as long as it’s below 400 feet and within line-of-sight. You’ll need to register it with the FAA if it weighs more than one pound, and you’ll need to follow certain rules if you’re using it for commercial purposes.

The state of New Mexico has passed some laws that are important for drone pilots to be aware of. These laws help keep the skies safe for all people, whether they are on the ground or in the air.

If you want to fly your drone in New Mexico, make sure it is registered with federal authorities as well as local law enforcement agencies before going out into public spaces.

Frequently Asked Questions Drone Laws New Mexico

Are There Age Restrictions For Drone Pilots In New Mexico?

Yes. If you are 16 years old or older and have not had the ability to legally drive a vehicle in New Mexico, then you are eligible to fly a drone in New Mexico. You will need to register your drone with the FAA as well as purchase an aircraft registration sticker for each of your drones.

Can I Fly My Drone Above Private Property In New Mexico?

New Mexico drone laws allow you to fly your drone over private property without permission as long as you are flying for hobby or recreational purposes. You will need permission from the property owner if you want to fly your drone over their land for any other reason, such as commercial flights or filming on private property.

When Can I Fly My Drone At Night In New Mexico?

  • You must have a light on the drone.
  • You must be able to see the drone.
  • You must be able to see the drone’s surroundings.
  • You must be able to see the drone’s surroundings and the sky (in case you’re flying over someone else’s property).

Similar Posts