As the ready to fly market grows, so does the need for clear and succinct drone laws Nevada. A section of the “small unmanned aircraft system” (UAS) industry was made up of manufacturers and hobbyists.

The first thing to know is that you can’t fly over 400 feet, or within 5 miles of an airport. You can’t fly at night, or in the rain or fog. And you can’t fly within 25 feet of any person without a waiver from that person.

The cameras provided on a majority of these units did not have any capabilities of identifying people or property below, but only helped provide an aerial view to assist in piloting the unit to desired locations. Laws for protection over private property included restrictions on flying within a certain distance or altitude from structures or inhabited premises.

Drones in this category were also required to stay at a certain altitude. This prevents pilots from trespassing into areas that are off-limits, such as beaches and parks, with their drones.

Drone Laws Nevada

Drone Laws Nevada

Drone Regulations Enacted By The State Of Nevada

In addition to these rules and regulations, the FAA has also issued a number of additional guidelines for drone operators in Nevada. These include:

  • Do not fly within 5 miles of an airport or other aircraft without permission from the control tower. This can be found on a chart at [].
  • Do not fly over 100 feet above the ground unless you are within 400 feet of a structure or person that could be harmed by your drone’s presence (such as someone standing on the ground).
  • Be aware that flying drones may interfere with emergency response operations, such as when fire crews need to land helicopters on roofs or near trees during wildfires; if you do fly within these areas, ask first whether it is safe for you to do so.

Visual Contact With Your Drone

You must always have visual contact with your drone. Visual contact means that you can see your drone and it can see you. For example, if you are in a field and flying your drone around, it is out of sight for more than 5 seconds at a time, then this is not considered visual contact.

If the person controlling the drone loses visual contact with both his or her eyes and does not regain it within 20 seconds, he or she must land immediately.

For most recreational operators there is no need to worry about losing control of their drones if they are flying below 400 feet AGL (Above Ground Level).

Unless you want to take pictures from above 400 feet AGL or do some stunts like racing other drones then there should be no reason why someone would lose sight of their drones while flying them recreationally at low altitudes where buildings might interfere with line-of-sight communication between remote controller/transmitter and receiver/transmitter on board UAS/UAV

All Recreational Users Must Register Their Drone With The Faa

For recreational users, you must register your drone with the FAA. Registering your drone will help you avoid civil and criminal penalties should there be an incident involving your drone.

The registration process is simple and can be completed online at You must have proof of registration when flying your drone in Nevada, so make sure to keep a copy handy at all times!

If you are a commercial operator (such as those who use drones for photography or videography), then additional regulations apply to you: You must follow special rules when operating at night and out of visual line-of-sight (BVLOS).

You Can Use A Drone Of Any Size As Long As It Meets Faa Guidelines

You Can Use A Drone Of Any Size As Long As It Meets Faa Guidelines. However, if you want to fly your drone for commercial purposes or for recreational use in National Parks, you must register with the FAA.

The FAA has set up different regulations for commercial and recreational use of drones based on the size of the drone being flown:

  • If your drone weighs less than 55 pounds (25 kilograms), it’s considered small and does not require registration with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).
  • Drones between 55 and 250 pounds must be registered with the FAA if they are used commercially or recreationally by non-hobbyists—this means that most people who own drones will need to register their devices before flying them outside of their homes or private property.

You Cannot Operate A Drone On National Wildlife Refuges In Nevada

you can’t fly a drone on national wildlife refuges

  • The National Wildlife Refuge System (NWR) is a nationwide network of lands and waters set aside by the U.S. government to protect wildlife and natural resources.
  • It’s illegal to fly a drone in an area where NWR land is located, including within 5 miles of that land. You also can’t fly within 10 miles or 25 miles of NWR land, or within 50 miles if you’re flying over water—but if you’re flying over land and don’t know exactly where it begins and ends, it’s best not to take any chances at all!

You Can Fly Over Private Property 

Although you can fly over private property without permission as long as you do not interfere with the owners enjoyment of the land and airspace, if you breach someone’s privacy or cause damage to their property, it is likely that they will sue for damages.

You should also be aware that if your drone is so loud that it disturbs others in the vicinity of where you are flying, then this is considered a form of noise pollution which could result in a fine or even jail time if it occurs regularly enough for people to complain about it.

Drones Are Allowed Within 25 Miles Of An Airport

Drones Are Allowed Within 25 Miles Of An Airport, military base or other restricted airspace if you call ahead and get permission from air traffic control. You also must follow FAA regulations.

Military bases may have their own rules for drone use, so it’s best to check with them before flying in the area around a military base.

Apply For Permits Before Flying Over Critical Infrastructure Sites

Nevada is one of two states requiring recreational users to apply for permits before flying over critical infrastructure sites, such as dams, power plants and telecommunications towers.

The law requires you to call ahead and get permission from air traffic control. You can also see if there are any other places in Nevada where drone pilots must register or obtain permits—these might be areas around airports or military bases where flying drones could be dangerous.

License For Operating Drone

In Nevada, drone operators who want to fly for commercial purposes must obtain a license from the state. Commercial licenses are only granted to applicants 18 years old or older and there is no test required to get one.

If you are under 18 years old and want to fly a drone for non-commercial purposes, you can do so without a license as long as the drone weighs less than 55 pounds and does not fly higher than 400 feet above ground level (AGL).

You Cannot Fly Within 2 Miles Of An Active Emergency Scene

You Cannot Fly Within 2 Miles Of An Active Emergency Scene, such as a car accident or hazardous materials spill, unless you have explicit permission from authorities on scene. The same rules apply to all Nevada airports.

You cannot fly over any military installation or within its boundaries. This includes:

  • Nellis Air Force Base (which includes the Nevada Test and Training Range)
  • Travis Air Force Base in California

Registration Of Drone In Nevada

Registration Of Drone In Nevada

Register Your Drone With Faa

  • You will need to register your drone with FAA.
  • You will need a valid U.S. street address, physical location, mailing address and email address to complete the registration process.
  • The registration process is free but it takes time to go through all the steps and get your registration number for each drone you own or operate in Nevada airspace!

Drone Must Be Listed On The Aircraft Registration Application

You need to list the drone on the aircraft registration application. If you already own a drone, you can enter its serial number in the appropriate box.

You should also include your name as well as the make and model of your drone, along with its sUAS owner’s name, if applicable.

Aircraft Owner Or Operator Must Complete The Aircraft Registration Application 

To register your drone, you must first create an account with the FAA. You can do this at

If you would like to complete the process online, simply answer the questions and follow the prompts provided on that page of their website.

If you prefer to complete it in person or over the phone, contact a manned facility near you by visiting their website at:

Application Is Available Online

You can register your drone online by following these steps:

  • Go to the FAA website.
  • Click on “Applications and Forms” on this page (which will open up a new tab). 4. Select “Application for Airworthiness Certificate, Aircraft Registration, and Marking,” then click “Download.”
  • This will download an application form with instructions and guidelines for completing it, which you’ll find useful when registering drones in Nevada (or anywhere else). 5 .
  • Complete all required fields in this application form; make sure you have all necessary supporting documentation before submitting your registration (see below). 6 .
  • Once completed and signed by both parties involved in purchasing the drone or unmanned aircraft system (UAS), submit it electronically via email attachment at [email protected] You should receive confirmation within 24 hours indicating that everything went through successfully!

A Valid U.s. Street Address

You must have a valid U.S. street address, physical location, mailing address and email address to complete the registration application process.

If you do not have any of these items listed above, we will not be able to register your drone with the FAA or NV DOT and you will need to return your registration form along with instructions on how they can be obtained (e.g., driver’s license).

Please note: If you do not provide us with all of these fields within 30 days from submission date for each drone that needs to be registered, it is possible that we will be unable to process your request because we cannot verify that you are who you say you are or where your drones are located

Under 13 Aircraft Registration

If the owner of the sUAS is under 13 years of age, a person 13 years of age or older must complete the aircraft registration application on behalf of the owner.

You can use your parent’s email address to submit your application.

No Cost To Register A Drone

There is no cost to register a drone using this web-based aircraft registration process.

If you choose to mail in your information, a $5 fee will be assessed for processing fees. If you are unable to use the online system and need assistance with registration, please call (775) 684-7722.

You Will Need To Visit An Faa Website

The instructions are clear, but you will need to visit an FAA website to follow them

To register your drone, you will need to visit the FAA’s website. The instructions are clear, but you will need to follow them closely. You will need to enter your drone’s serial number and make sure that it is in your possession at this time.

Next, you will need to enter your name, address, email and phone number so that they can contact you if there are any issues with the registration process. Finally, you must enter all of your credit card information in order for them to charge the $5 fee for registering a drone in Nevada (the same as other states).

Are Drones Allowed In Nevada

Drones Are Allowed In Nevada As Long As You Follow All Of The Rules

Drones Are Allowed In Nevada As Long As You Follow All Of The Rules. The drone laws that apply to flying over parks, schools, and other sensitive public areas are similar to those of other states, including California and Arizona.

In addition to adhering to these general rules, it’s important not to forget any local restrictions on drones. For example, Las Vegas has a strict ban on flying over its famous strip—a rule that could cost you $1 million if you’re caught breaking it!

Nevada Drones Laws Are Very Similar To Federal Drone Laws

Nevada drone laws are very similar to Federal drone laws.

  • You must register your drone with the FAA.
  • You can only fly below 400 feet, and if you exceed that altitude, you must notify the airport of your presence before operating a drone within 5nm of an airport (this notification can be given to air traffic control or directly to an air traffic controller).
  • You must keep your drone in sight at all times while flying it. It’s important that you know exactly where it is at all times so that it doesn’t crash into someone or something on the ground, including people; buildings/vehicles; animals (especially livestock); airplanes; other drones; etc.
  • You also aren’t allowed to fly within 5 miles of an airport without notifying them first!

Private Property Rights 

You have to be careful in Nevada because private property rights relax the restrictions a little bit. In general, drone flight is allowed on public lands.

However, there are exceptions for national parks, tribal lands and other federal land controlled by the government.

Private property can sometimes be more difficult to navigate than public land because private landowners may want to restrict drone use on their property for safety or privacy reasons.

If you’re flying over someone’s backyard in Nevada with a large amount of green space or desert surrounding it, then they might not want you flying over their house out of concern that you will cause damage or hurt someone with your drone (or just plain steal something).

Nevada Gambling Industry

Nevada is a gambling state and tourist state. In both cases, it seems fairly obvious that Nevada would be more liberal with drones because of the gambling industry. You can’t go to Vegas without seeing drones flying in every direction.

Nevada is also a very open-minded state when it comes to new ideas, technology and industries. Again this makes sense because of their tourism industry but also for other reasons too like being a place where people come to start over or branch out into new things.

We think this will apply especially well in regards to drones in general and especially those that are used for commercial purposes like video production or photography work where they are part of your business model as an employer or entrepreneur

Nevada’s Drone Laws Are Very Similar To Other States And To Federal Law

The FAA regulates all airspace that is above 400 feet, so if you’re flying a drone over Nevada, it must be under 400 feet. If you’re flying your drone below 400 feet then the FAA does not regulate your flight.

State law in Nevada mirrors federal law in many ways:

Drones cannot fly near a hospital, school or prison; they cannot interfere with emergency response operations; must always yield right of way to manned aircraft; and no operation may be conducted from an aircraft at night unless it has lights that are visible from 3 miles away.

Frequently Asked Question (drone Laws Nevada)

Where Can I Fly My Drone In The State Of Nevada?

You can fly your drone in the state of Nevada without having to worry about any restrictions. However, you need to ensure that you are flying it in a safe manner and away from populated areas and airports. You can also operate your drone at night or on the ground as well as in air.

Can I Fly My Drone On Public Lands?

Yes, you can fly your drone on public lands. However, you must follow the rules of the specific area as well as those set forth by the FAA. It’s also important to note that there are some areas where drones are prohibited or restricted. For example, many parks do not allow drones at all because they disturb wildlife and other visitors who may have a fear of flying objects.

Do I Need A License To Fly My Drone?

No, you don’t need a license to fly your drone in Nevada. However, if you plan on using it for commercial purposes (such as being paid to capture footage), then you will need to register your drone with the FAA and get permission from them first.

What Are The Laws Governing Model Aircraft Operation In The State Of Nevada?

  • Model aircraft must remain within 400 feet of the ground at all times.
  • Model aircraft cannot be flown within 5 miles of an airport without prior authorization from that airport.
  • You may not operate a model aircraft in any careless or reckless manner so as to endanger the life or property of another and you are responsible for your actions if you do so.


The FAA requires that you register your drone with them, and all drone pilots must be at least 16 years old. You must also follow local laws if your drone is flying in an area outside of a designated airspace.

The new FAA guidelines are welcome news for the use of commercial drones in Nevada. Any business or individual who deals with aerial photography should understand the current regulations, and how one might choose to comply with them, whether through training or insurance.

Unmanned aircraft are not toys, and every operator should take drone laws Nevada seriously before they fly.

Similar Posts