You may have heard the term drone laws before, but drone laws Florida are not just about privacy protection. They cover a number of different areas; some which you may not even realize pertain to drones.
If you’re flying your drone at airport, keep it within sight. If you plan on flying over 400 feet up or within five miles of an airport, give them a call before takeoff. Never fly your drone above a crowd of people. Never fly it within 100 feet of anyone.
If you’re thinking about purchasing or flying a drone, it’s important that you’re aware of these laws. I’m going to cover them ahead so you’ll have someone handy who can explain everything in detail until it all makes sense.
With the increase in popularity in drones, it’s become increasingly important for us to learn about drone laws in our state. As more people purchase these devices and start flying them around, safety should be the
You’ve got a drone. You want to fly it in Florida. But, you have no idea where you can fly your drone and where you cannot fly.
You certainly don’t want to get in trouble for flying your drone near an airport. If you are planning on flying your drone in Florida or anywhere else in the USA, you need to read these drone laws first!
In addition to complying with Part 107, you must also register your drone. In most cases, registration is quick and easy.
- Go to the FAA’s online registration website.
- Provide your name, address, and email address. You don’t need to provide any other personal information on the form.
- Pay a $5 registration fee. Receive a Certificate of Aircraft Registration within 72 hours via email or mail indicating your unique registration number that you’ll need to place on your drone before flying it outdoors or in public spaces (Note: The FAA does not require private model aircraft flown exclusively for hobby or recreational purposes to be registered).
Be Aware Of The Weather.
Weather conditions can change rapidly, so be sure to check your local forecast before you go flying your drone. Keep in mind that weather conditions at a specific site or location can differ from the overall forecast for an entire city or a region.
This is especially important in Florida where thunderstorms can spring up quickly on warm afternoons. You should never fly if there are heavy winds, rain, snow or fog as these can severely limit visibility and make it difficult for you to fly safely.
In addition, these kinds of adverse weather conditions put further strain on your batteries and may cause them to drain faster than usual.
Be Aware Of Where You Are Flying.
In addition to checking the official no-fly zones set out by the FAA, it’s important to remind yourself of your own surroundings when flying a drone in Florida .
For example, responsible pilots always need to keep their drones within visual line-of-sight (VLOS) at all times when operating outdoors – so make sure that you’re not attempting to fly beyond what you can see!
Respect Others’ Privacy.
- Respect others’ privacy. The same rules that govern taking photos of people and places without their consent apply to drones too. Don’t use your drone for stalking, harassment, or surveillance of any sort.
- Don’t fly in airports, hospitals, military bases, or anywhere near prisons. These areas are federally protected airspace, meaning you’ll have to get special permission from the FAA to fly there.
Contact Property Owners
Be sure to ask permission before flying over private property. If you don’t, you will be committing a trespass, which is the basis for a lawsuit that could lead to a hefty fine or even jail time.
Don’t fly over any land with valuable assets—like an amusement park, a music festival, or a high-security prison—without checking with the property’s management first.
You should also avoid flying over any public gatherings of people as well as government facilities and other private properties where your drone might pose a security risk.
Research And Follow The Faa’s Rules
Don’t be a menace to the airspace when you fly. The FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) has a lot of rules about drones and drone flying.
First, all drones must be registered with the FAA before they can legally be flown for any purpose, whether that’s for hobby or business.
It costs five dollars to register your drone and you’ll get a certificate number to put on your drone once it’s approved.
Other things to keep in mind are making sure you don’t fly within five miles of an airport unless you contact them first, and also keeping your drone under 400 feet from the ground at all times.
Don’t Fly Close To Other Aircraft, Especially Near Airports.
- Don’t fly near other aircraft, especially near airports. This one may seem obvious, but it’s important to remember that drones are considered aircraft.
- As such, flying in areas where manned aircraft is present is strictly prohibited by the FAA. Flying a drone within 5 miles of an airport requires contacting air traffic control at that airport prior to flying.
Don’t Fly Above People Or Moving Vehicles.
This is a very important rule that you should keep in mind when flying your drone. The reason for this rule is simple: drones are not toys. Drones are aircraft that can cause a lot of damage if they fall on people or moving vehicles.
Drones can also be very loud, and flying over people’s heads can be very annoying for them!
So make sure you never fly your drone over groups of people, moving vehicles or emergency scenes.
Also, do not fly your drone above stadiums or sports events.
Keep Your Drone In Sight
“See and Avoid” is the FAA’s fundamental principle for operating all aircraft, including drones. You must be able to see and avoid other aircraft, people, and obstacles at all times, so keep your drone within your line of sight.
If you are flying at a distance that makes it difficult to see clearly (for example, if you need binoculars or a video screen) then you may need an observer to help you spot other aircraft, people on the ground, or hazards.
If your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs., stay below 400 feet in uncontrolled airspace.
Use a spotter when flying in unfamiliar areas. They can help watch for no-fly zones or emergencies that could force you to land quickly.
Don’t use first person view (FPV) goggles while flying your drone over people or busy places — make sure you’re always looking at where your drone is going! Remember that dense traffic patterns can interfere with radio signals as well as video feeds from some types of cameras on many models of drones.
Safely Enjoy Your New Hobby
As a drone pilot in the state of Florida, you must abide by certain laws. Luckily, Florida is a pretty drone-friendly place, so it’s easy to follow these rules and still have lots of fun flying your drone.
First off, if you’re flying recreationally in Florida, there aren’t any additional state laws that apply to you besides the FAA’s general rules for recreational flight.
Commercial pilots do need to get extra certifications from the state. However, most of our readers are hobbyists who just want to fly their drones for fun or take photos and videos with them.
In this article we’ll cover what you need to know about both federal and state regulations in order to legally fly your drone here in Florida.
Are Drones Allowed In Florida?
Florida Has Specific Rules
In 2018, the Florida Senate passed a bill to regulate the use of drones in Florida. As a result, Florida has specific rules regarding the use of drones.
For example, drones may not be flown more than 400 feet above ground level without express permission from air traffic control.
Commercial Drone Pilots Must Be Certified
If you’re planning on flying your drone for money, the FAA requires that you obtain and pass an aeronautical knowledge test.
You must also be vetted by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) and pay the FAA a $150 fee. Before doing any of this, however, you must be at least 16 years of age (the minimum age to apply is 15).
Once all this is done, commercial drone pilots get a Remote Pilot Certificate that’s good for two years before it needs to be renewed.
Related: Maine Drone Laws
You Must Be At Least 13 Years Of Age.
- You must be at least 13 years old to fly a drone in Florida.
- Stay away from people, animals, and other aircraft. Keep your drone within eyesight, and keep it at least 3 miles away from an airport. If you see or hear an airplane or helicopter while flying your drone, move the drone out of the way immediately.
- Always follow FAA rules when you fly your drone. Don’t fly above 400 feet unless you have a remote pilot certificate from the FAA. Also, don’t allow children to operate your drone by themselves—you’ll have to supervise them at all times.
For more information on Florida’s rules for drones, visit the Florida state legislature website.
You Cannot Fly Drones Near Airports Or Other Structures
When operating a drone in Florida, you must abide by the FAA’s rules. Drone pilots are not allowed to fly drones within five miles of an airport or over people who are not involved with the flight. You cannot fly drones near airports or other structures where people could be endangered.
Drones should stay below 400 feet in order to avoid collision with planes, and they cannot be flown over sporting events such as football games or large groups of people.
You Can Use Drones In Florida State Forests
The good news is that you can use drones in Florida State forests as well as most state parks, both with special permits. If you want to fly your drone in a state park, you’ll need to contact the local park ranger and ask for permission.
The ranger will likely give you specific guidelines on where and when you can fly the drone—likely a set time of day and an approved area with limited access.
If you want to fly your drone in a state forest, things are a little trickier. Again, it’s important that you get special permission from the local park ranger before flying your drone in any state forest.
Drones Are Allowed In Florida
If you are planning to fly your drone in Florida, there are two main things you need to do. First, always follow FAA rules and regulations. This will keep you and others safe while flying. Second, be sure that you are a certified pilot in the state of Florida by following these steps:
- Be of legal age
- Get permission from the property owner where you plan on flying
How To Register Drone In Florida
Florida Is One Of The Fastest Growing States
Take a few minutes to read this guide. It provides basic information on state law, registration requirements, and tips for flying your drone within the Sunshine State.
The State Has Strict Privacy Laws.
To avoid trouble with the authorities, it’s important for drone users to be aware of the state’s privacy and rules prior to taking flight over Florida. The following are important points to consider as you enjoy your new hobby:
- Don’t fly over private property. This includes residential and commercial buildings, especially if the drone is close enough to take photos of individual people through windows or other openings. If a person is out in their yard or otherwise enjoying their own property, it’s still a good idea to get their permission before flying overhead.
- Don’t photograph individuals without their consent. If your drone takes pictures or uses video that clearly captures an individual person’s image (face, body), then you should get that person’s permission before proceeding with this photography.
- Don’t fly over crowds or public events. Just like flying close to homes, this can be interpreted as violating someone’s personal privacy, even though they aren’t on personal property at that moment.
- Don’t fly near public roads (especially highways). This can be very dangerous for both vehicles on the road and the pilot operating the drone because it may lead to collisions between them.
- Also, don’t fly close enough to cars so that you might see passengers inside them; this could also be seen as a violation of privacy laws.
Drones Must Be Registered With The State
There are two ways to register your drone.
The first is online at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.
The second is in person, by going to a local tax collector office in your county, where there will be an attendant who can help you with any questions or difficulties you encounter during registration.
Either way, you must register your drone prior to first flight. A drone that is not registered may be subject to penalties and fines, so it’s important to make sure this process is completed thoroughly before moving forward with any recreational or business applications of the UAS.
Registration Must Be Renewed Every Three Years.
- Three years is the most common renewal period, but it may vary by state.
- Even if your drone requires registration in your home state, it is possible that you could cross a border into another state with different rules.
- The same drone can have multiple registrations in multiple states for various different uses.
- Drone use varies wildly depending on the operator and their purpose for owning the drone. Some people own drones as toys to fly around for fun on their property, some own them for personal photography or videography purposes, and some own license their drones for commercial use.
Drone Registration Costs $5.
Drone registration is $5. This is the fee for each drone that you register. registering your drone with the FAA costs $5, and you’ll have to submit a separate payment for each drone registration.
The $5 covers a three-year period of time, so you won’t need to pay another $5 until your original registration expires (and then after that in three year increments).
You Can Register All Your Drones In One Registration.
You may register all your drones at once or in stages, as you see fit. Registering multiple drones together makes the experience more streamlined. Each drone you register separately incurs a $5 fee, but registering all your drones together means only one $5 fee.
One registration can cover up to 3 drones at once. If you have a fleet of more than 3, you’ll need an additional registration for each block of 3. Hobbies aren’t free!
However, if you’re flying for commercial purposes, registration is free for both individuals and companies alike—as long as your fleet size is less than 25 drones.
For those with larger fleets (25+), the initial $5 fee applies, and there’s a $5 renewal fee after three years; the FAA will send out reminders prior to renewal time.
Register Online Or At A Local Tax Collector’s Office.
- Go to the tax collector’s website, find the form, download it, and fill it out.
- Mail in your completed form with a check for $5.00 or use the payment information on the form to pay with a credit card over the phone. (If you prefer, you can also bring your completed application form to a local tax collector’s office instead of mailing it in.)
- The tax collector will verify that your drone is legal and assign you an identification number; then they’ll send you a registration certificate and sticker by mail.
Follow State Drone Laws When Flying Your Drone In Florida
Follow state drone laws. Don’t fly your drone in a way that could harm someone or damage their property — you could be fined.
Don’t fly over people or crowded areas, and don’t fly near airports. It’s illegal to interfere with emergency response efforts, like fires and hurricane recovery, so steer clear of those operations.
Be aware of how far away you are from your drone — the further away it is, the less control you have over it. Avoid using a camera on your drone at night — you should be able to see your drone without any extra help like a camera on it.
Don’t use your drone in restricted areas that are posted as such by law enforcement, like sporting events or prisons.
Frequently Asked Question (drone Laws Florida)
How Do I Become A Drone Pilot In Florida?
You can become a drone pilot by obtaining your remote pilot certificate with a small UAS rating. To get the certificate, you must pass an aeronautical knowledge test online or in person at an FAA-approved testing center.
The FAA is responsible for establishing and maintaining requirements for commercial drone pilots in Florida. It also ensures that these pilots are aware of their responsibilities when flying drones and follow applicable rules, regulations and laws before taking off into the skies above our heads!
Can I Fly A Drone At Night In Florida?
When it comes to flying your drone at night, the short answer is no. The FAA has strict guidelines about operating a drone at night and these rules apply regardless of where you are flying your drone.
The only time you can legally fly a drone in Florida during the hours of darkness is if:
- You have permission from the land owner/occupant (e.g., farmer) or local government official
- You’re an emergency responder conducting search and rescue operations;
- You’re an air ambulance pilot responding to an emergency call; or
- You are a professional photographer who has been issued special authorization by the FAA
Can I Fly My Drone Over People In Florida?
You can fly your drone over the people in Florida, but only if they give you permission. If you don’t have that permission, then it is illegal to fly over them.
It’s also illegal to fly over stadiums or sports events at which more than 5,000 people are present; this is because such places are considered “critical infrastructure” and might be targets for terrorists (and also because they’re not very fun to watch a game from).
Also keep in mind that you can’t fly your drone over emergency responders who are trying to rescue someone or put out a fire—they’ll probably order you away from the area before long anyway, so pay attention!
Can There Be More Than One Person Controlling A Drone At Once?
Yes, there can be more than one person controlling a drone at once. However, they must be able to see the drone at all times and have control over it at all times.
Can I Fly My Drone Anywhere?
You can fly your drone in public spaces, as long as you follow the rules. You cannot fly over 400 feet above the ground and you cannot fly over people. As with any responsible hobby, there are certain restrictions to be aware of when flying drones.
If you’re a beginner, then it’s best to avoid flying at night until you have a better understanding of how drones function. While operating a drone during daylight hours is safe for most beginners, nighttime flying poses additional challenges that could be dangerous if not handled properly.
There are a few drone laws Florida that you should be aware of. The first is that you cannot fly a drone over 400 feet in the air. This is important to know because the FAA has been cracking down on people who violate this law and fly too high.
The laws regarding flying your drone in Florida are actually very relaxed. There may be some places that you cannot fly, but for the most part you can fly a drone there without much worry.
However, you should still check to see if there are any specific places or ways of flying that the FAA has prohibited.